Find the answer to your Linux question:
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Installing software question

Last time I felt this out of my depth was when I moved from my CBM64 to an Amiga! I picked it up eventually, just about the time I bought my first W95 PC.

Anyhow, you don't want to know my ancient history. I'm new to SUSE, so I'm sure this will be the first of many, many questions.

I have 3 machines here on my desk. 2 run WXP and the newest runs SUSE 9.3. The two Windows machines run a little application called Synergy which allows me to control other machines from the one KVE. On the main PC (Synergy's server), when i move the ouse pointer of the left of the screen, it appears on the other PC (Synergy client) and then using the mouse and keyboard from the main PC, i can control the other one. It's cool.
    Synergy, it turns out has a linux client version so I download the RPM. Flushed with my success, I install the program using YAST, but then I run out of steam. How do I run this program once it's installed?
    I mean, WXP would install it, then dump a shortcut on the desktop, YAST does loads of incomprehensible stuff, lots of scrolling text, then disappears off into the sunset, leaving me none the wiser. How do I find, run and work with the installed application?

Thanks in advance,

Paul

suggestion

Quote Originally Posted by pauleden
    Synergy, it turns out has a linux client version so I download the RPM. Flushed with my success, I install the program using YAST, but then I run out of steam. How do I run this program once it's installed?
    I mean, WXP would install it, then dump a shortcut on the desktop, YAST does loads of incomprehensible stuff, lots of scrolling text, then disappears off into the sunset, leaving me none the wiser. How do I find, run and work with the installed application?