Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am fairly new at linux and I would like to run Ubuntu and SuSE on the same machine. I have tried a couple of times, but I don't seem ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

SuSE and Ubuntu dual boot

I am fairly new at linux and I would like to run Ubuntu and SuSE on the same machine. I have tried a couple of times, but I don't seem to fully understand partitions. Do I need SuSE installed first or do I need Ubuntu installed first. Does it matter? Please help me; I need a full walktrhrough. thanks.

try this

Quote Originally Posted by SamTheMan
    I am fairly new at linux and I would like to run Ubuntu and SuSE on the same machine. I have tried a couple of times, but I don't seem to fully understand partitions. Do I need SuSE installed first or do I need Ubuntu installed first. Does it matter? Please help me; I need a full walktrhrough. thanks.

----------
    i did the same job in my system (Windows,Fedora and SuSE), and here are all that i had done:

If you run Windows as well, the first thing is install windows and then others.

i think it does not matter which one is installed first, but if i were you, i install SuSE and then make use of the Yast partitioner to resize the harddisk (it is graphical base so very easy). After that you can install Ubuntu.

when you install Ubuntu, do not install the boot loader. You can config the SuSE's GRUB to run Ubuntu later.

good luck,

Linux Newbie
    The ubuntu install will reach a point where it asks to install GRUB to the mbr. Do not accept this option if you are installing ubuntu after Suse. Take the option of installing to ubuntu's root (or however the installer words this).

The nice part about letting Suse control the mbr is you get to use this;
    http://www.math.ucla.edu/computing/d...1/ch07s05.html

While doing a quick search to see what ubuntu uses for a bootloader, I came across this;