Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hey guys, I am new to Linux. In fact, this is the first time i try something with Linux. I have a pentium 3 coppermine server with Windows 2003, but ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

installing Suse 10 on Pentium 3

Hey guys, I am new to Linux. In fact, this is the first time i try something with Linux. I have a pentium 3 coppermine server with Windows 2003, but t keeps crashing, so I decided to switch to Suse linux 10.

The specs are:
    Intel Pentium III coppermine, 550 Mhz, 512KB Cache
    Asus P2b-LS motherboard
    512 MB RAM SDRAM memory
    10 GB 7200 rpm IDE harddisk - formatted to ext3

Now, when I boot up the dvd-rom of Suse 10, I choose installation, and it loads the kernel. After a while, a console view shows up and it stops with the following error:

Invalid compressed format
    VFS: cannot open root device "NULL" or unknown block
    Please append a correct root= boot-option
    Kernel panic ... etc etc

I have searched on google and other forums, no solution . I dont know how to set a root device, and i dont even know what a root device is (maybe primary partition?). Can someone please help me with this? I dont want to return to Windows crap again!

Thanks,
    best regards,

Me

did you burn the disc yourself, if so, did you check the md5sum of the iso before burning, and did you burn at a slow speed?

another thing to check is wether the disc works on another computer and wether you can get to an installation screen of sorts.
    Life is complex, it has a real part and an imaginary part.

Just Joined!
    no i didnt check, how do I do that?

I just downloaded the image and immediately burned it with 16 speed on a dvd+r

What should I do? Can I still copy if off the dvd and do that checksum thing and burn it slow again?