Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I haven't used Linux in a while and I'm still pretty new to it so I'm a little confused. I am using SuSE 10 and I am trying to run ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

bash: ./test: Permission denied

I haven't used Linux in a while and I'm still pretty new to it so I'm a little confused. I am using SuSE 10 and I am trying to run this .exe file called test and I get the following message:

bash: ./test: Permission denied

Any idea as to what I should do to fix this? I am logged in as root user already...
    I tried doing chmod 777 test to see if that helped, but it didn't. Any help is much appreciated!

Just Joined!
    also I have the same problem with other files. I tried installing my printer driver and I get a similar error:

bash: ./EPSON-TM-USB-3_2.sh: /bin/sh: bad interpreter: Permission denied

heeeeelllppp!!!

Quote Originally Posted by cooldude
    I haven't used Linux in a while and I'm still pretty new to it so I'm a little confused. I am using SuSE 10 and I am trying to run this .exe file called test...
    Do you mean you're trying to run a Linux script or something other than an EXE file? EXE files are strictly for MS Windows and MS-DOS. They will not run in Linux without some sort of special emulation.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

also I have the same problem with other files. I tried installing my printer driver and I get a similar error:

bash: ./EPSON-TM-USB-3_2.sh: /bin/sh: bad interpreter: Permission denied

heeeeelllppp!!!
    Try this command instead:
    Code:
    sh EPSON-TM-USB-3_2.sh
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

Just Joined!
    oh yeahh i forgot about that. Thanks alot! I installed the driver. I still can't run that test file though. Its a binary file.