Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Greetings: I have a n'book computer with a 40gb drive... 20gb for XP and 20gb for openlinux 10. the XP partition has been converted from ntfs to fat-32. when the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Shah Alam, Malaysia
    Posts
    7

    How to mount a vfat filesystem as rw for all users?


    Greetings:

    I have a n'book computer with a 40gb drive... 20gb for XP and 20gb for openlinux 10. the XP partition has been converted from ntfs to fat-32.

    when the vfat partition is mounted, only root has write perms. if i umount, change the perms of the directory to 777 and remount, the perms get reset to 755.

    i've tried every combination in /etc/fstab and all the obvious options to the mount command, but nothing makes any difference.

    root can write, but users cannot.

    anyone know any way the fs can be mounted for rw perms for all?

    TIA

    --paul

  2. #2
    Linux Guru bryansmith's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    /Ontario/Canada
    Posts
    2,619
    Can you please post the contents of your /etc/fstab?

    Bryan
    Looking for a distro? Look here.
    "There can be no doubt that all our knowledge begins with experience." - Immanuel Kant (Critique of Pure Reason)
    Queen's University - Arts and Science 2008 (Sociology)
    Registered Linux User #386147.

  3. #3
    Linux Engineer Zelmo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Riverton, UT, USA
    Posts
    1,001
    umask is good for this kind of thing.
    Stand up and be counted as a Linux user!

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Shah Alam, Malaysia
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by bryansmith
    Can you please post the contents of your /etc/fstab?

    Bryan
    /dev/hda3 / reiserfs acl,user_xattr 1 1
    /dev/hda1 /windows vfat rw,owner,group,posix,auto,suid,dev,exec,async 0 0
    /dev/hda2 swap swap defaults 0 0

    ...etc...

    those are the current settings for hda1 bryan, but as i mentioned, i've tried just about every combination.

    can you suggest something i shd try?

    TIA

    --paul

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Shah Alam, Malaysia
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by Zelmo
    umask is good for this kind of thing.
    Thanks, but could you give me a hint or two as to what i do with umask?

    TIA

    --paul

  6. #6
    Linux Engineer Zelmo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Riverton, UT, USA
    Posts
    1,001
    Follow the link in my first post.
    Stand up and be counted as a Linux user!

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Shah Alam, Malaysia
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by Zelmo
    Follow the link in my first post.
    sorry; hadn't noticed the subtle change in font color!

    umask=0000 work great, tkx.

    wonder why it's not mentioned in the 'man' page.

    --paul

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •