Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am a complete and total newb to linux and I have quite a few questions. First the specifications (won't be 100% accurate because I am not at my computer ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Total Newb in need of a lot assistance

I am a complete and total newb to linux and I have quite a few questions. First the specifications (won't be 100% accurate because I am not at my computer at the moment) I'm running Suse 10.0 on an AMD64 processor and using Gnome. I only have broadband access at college so any large programs or files I download at school onto a thumbdrive then bring them home. (I live out in the boonies so broadband at home is not at all possible) so on with the questions.

1. Which is better, Gnome or KDE?

2. How do I set up dialup on my computer and will "accelerated dialup" make a difference?

3. What good programs are there for multimedia purposes (i.e. mp3 player, DVD players, and cd burning)

4. Is there anyway to download updates on my thumbdrive at school and install them on my home computer (i bought suse 10.0 in a store so it is registered)

5. I have a Radeon X800XL PCIe video card and suse dectets its presence but when I try to run a program that needs accelerated graphics it says there is no acceleration hardware, how do i fix this?

I believe that is all the questions I have for now. Thank you in advance for your help.

Quote Originally Posted by Flannel
    1. Which is better, Gnome or KDE?
    This question will not be answered by anyone but yourself. It's like asking "which flavor of ice cream will be my favorite?" Try both. See for yourself.

2. How do I set up dialup on my computer and will "accelerated dialup" make a difference?