Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 9 of 9
Hi, All: I have heard that suse is somewhat slow sometimes. But I think it should NOT be like this. I have only opened some consoles and firefox apps, it's ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    3

    why suse 10.1 so slow in my 1G RAM computer


    Hi, All:
    I have heard that suse is somewhat slow sometimes. But I think it should NOT be like this.
    I have only opened some consoles and firefox apps, it's sooooo slow, I check out top and free, it seems strange, It seems my swap is not used, and all the physics RAM are taken.
    What could i do with this? By the way, I get this performance right after the installation.

    Thanks a lot!

    mike

    mike@linux-mike:~> free -m
    total used free shared buffers cached
    Mem: 979 895 84 0 49 424
    -/+ buffers/cache: 421 558
    Swap: 1027 0 1027

    ____________________________________

    top - 00:45:26 up 2:39, 6 users, load average: 0.80, 0.98, 0.82
    Tasks: 102 total, 2 running, 100 sleeping, 0 stopped, 0 zombie
    Cpu(s): 89.0% us, 11.0% sy, 0.0% ni, 0.0% id, 0.0% wa, 0.0% hi, 0.0% si
    Mem: 1003376k total, 922408k used, 80968k free, 50432k buffers
    Swap: 1052216k total, 20k used, 1052196k free, 434628k cached

    PID USER PR NI VIRT RES SHR S %CPU %MEM TIME+ COMMAND
    3819 mike 21 0 105m 46m 25m R 78.5 4.8 24:05.01 kicker
    3312 root 15 0 196m 56m 6384 S 20.9 5.8 5:13.65 X
    8 root 10 -5 0 0 0 S 0.3 0.0 0:18.90 kacpid
    3851 mike 15 0 90296 28m 19m S 0.3 2.9 0:09.98 konsole
    5609 mike 16 0 2172 1128 832 R 0.3 0.1 0:01.02 top
    5629 root 15 0 151m 59m 26m S 0.3 6.1 0:30.32 firefox-bin
    1 root 16 0 720 280 244 S 0.0 0.0 0:00.92 init
    2 root 34 19 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 0:00.00 ksoftirqd/0
    3 root 10 -5 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 0:00.00 events/0
    4 root 13 -5 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 0:00.00 khelper
    5 root 10 -5 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 0:00.00 kthread
    7 root 10 -5 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 0:00.03 kblockd/0
    144 root 15 0 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 0:00.01 pdflush
    147 root 13 -5 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 0:00.00 aio/0
    146 root 15 0 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 0:00.17 kswapd0
    353 root 11 -5 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 0:00.00 cqueue/0
    354 root 10 -5 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 0:00.04 kseriod
    391 root 11 -5 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 0:00.00 kpsmoused
    806 root 10 -5 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 0:00.05 reiserfs/0
    899 root 11 -4 1860 676 344 S 0.0 0.1 0:00.52 udevd
    1414 root 10 -5 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 0:00.04 khubd
    1415 root 20 0 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 0:00.00 khpsbpkt
    1510 root 15 0 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 0:00.00 knodemgrd_0
    1598 root 18 0 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 0:00.00 pccardd
    1659 root 18 0 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 0:00.00 pccardd
    1868 root 20 0 0 0 0 S 0.0 0.0 0:00.00 shpchpd_event
    2499 root 15 0 1896 648 432 S 0.0 0.1 0:00.00 syslog-ng

  2. #2
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    There's more to performance than just RAM. What type of processor do you have? What kind of video hardware? What speed harddrive?

    As for using the physical RAM, Linux caches the system RAM whether or not it's in use so that when it's needed it can be filled faster. This does not mean your system is using all your RAM, just that the RAM is readily available.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    3

    Unhappy

    Thank you a lot for replying.
    I am using ASUS A6000 notebook, 1.4G, and i don't exactly remember the speed of harddisk...
    But before SUSE 10.1, I have been using 10.0 for serval months, it seems much faster than now.


    regards
    mike

  4. #4
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Have you installed the appropriate display drivers for your display hardware?
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    3
    yes, all the hardware works properly.
    anyway, I have removed suse10.1, and re-install suse10.0 gnome, it's really fast now(than 10.1)
    ... ...

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    5

    slow suse 10.1

    Right after I boot the system, parse-metadata and update-status
    are really hogging the cpu, I have to wait for them to stop. haven't figured out what they do yet. and sometimes mandb is pretty busy.

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    7
    Why is kicker taking 78.5% cpu?

  8. #8
    Linux User
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    408
    I didn't like SuSE 10.1's performance until after removing rug-ZMD and Beagle, both of which are huge drains on resources for very little return. I have no problems now.

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    4

    Exclamation S l o w after enabling soundcard

    Hi,

    I run suse 10.1 on my own computer without much tweaking, and it runs pretty good. But I tried to install it on my friends computer, and that went wrong, just after configuring the soundcard. With wrong I mean: it gets dread slow. Klick anything and come back 10 minutes later to see the beginning of loading...
    It took me 3 days of probing, changing IRQ's, IO's etc etc, and even tried another soundcard. But always the same trouble: no problem without soundcard, big big big problems with soundcard. No performance whatsoever.
    I left all hardware as it was, installed Suse 10.0, and whow! Fast! Sound! Joy!

    Surely they did not test Suse 10.1 as good as it should.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •