Find the answer to your Linux question:
Linux, as a user experience, is absolute rubbish. Not just a little bit rubbish - but big time "I can't be bothered with this" - pants. Let me explain myself. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Linux is Rubbish

Linux, as a user experience, is absolute rubbish. Not just a little bit rubbish - but big time "I can't be bothered with this" - pants.

Let me explain myself.

I'm a developer, I write computer programs for a living, I understand how computers work. I understand how users work. I want to believe that Linux is a good thing.

I understand that Windows has plenty of faults - it's too flashy, it's got too many services running in the background eating up CPU cycles that I could be using to do what I want to do, it's not secure, and it's created by Microsoft - the McDonalds of the computer world. Like I said, I want to believe that Linux is a good thing.

But it's NOT.

I buy a magazine (Linux Format) for 10 which has a CD on the front. The magazine claims to be "All You Need To Install Linux". The distribution they're "giving away" is Fedora 5. It's "Linux Made Easy", apparently. I take the magazine home and try and install Fedora. It doesn't work. The two-page instructions on installation that the magazine provides do not allow for the fact that things might go wrong. Fedora doesn't appear to recognise my laptop's monitor and things break down round about Step 3.

I'm a developer, though, so that's not going to stop me. I'm still curious about Linux and I AM going to get it working. I ask my colleagues at work and they say to try a different distribution. Someone kindly gives me a copy of SUSE 10.1.

Hurray! I finally install SUSE 10.1 and I have a desktop. I have icons and stuff. They're too big and too garish. I think it's over the top, but that's ok - this is Linux, it's super-quick, right?

Wrong.