Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
hi i am reasonably new to linux. suse is my third distro and i think i will stick with it. the install was ok, sound and wireless worked with out ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    2

    Installation sources


    hi i am reasonably new to linux. suse is my third distro and i think i will stick with it. the install was ok, sound and wireless worked with out any intervention on my behalf, but my problem lies in the yast installation source area. i need a few more bits and pieces to finish of the install, codecs mostly, but when i try to change the inst source to a server/mirror, any, i get a error msg saying 'unable to create installation source from url whatever'

    help.


    "never lick a sharp knife"

  2. #2
    Linux Guru antidrugue's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Canada
    Posts
    3,211
    You can add other repositories to YAST, mainly the PACKMAN one, from which you can download multimedia codecs :
    http://en.opensuse.org/Additional_Ya...T_Repositories
    "To express yourself in freedom, you must die to everything of yesterday. From the 'old', you derive security; from the 'new', you gain the flow."

    -Bruce Lee

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    2
    i have tried this but i get the same error msg everytime i try to change it using the http, https, and specify url options, "unable to create installation source from url _____". I just cant add anything to the installation source list?

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined! ironduke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Brisbane Queensland Australia
    Posts
    89
    I was just doing a similar thing myself.. YAST is only trying to be helpful but it keeps adding http:// and / to everything you type in the address box.
    in YAST - Installation Source
    under Servername enter ONLY the server or domain name
    eg
    software.opensuse.org
    no leading "http://" or any other "/"s

    under Directory on server enter the directories WITHOUT any leading or trailing "/"
    eg
    download/Compiz-Quinn/SUSE_Linux_10.1 = good :^)

    /download/Compiz-Quinn/SUSE_Linux_10.1/ = baaad :^(

    It may take a few goes so don't give up. When it tells go it's no good, look at the address to see what Yast has added.

    (by the way, the above address gets you compiz-quinn if you're trying to configure Xgl)

  6. #5
    Linux Engineer scrarfussi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    1,029
    I'm having the same problem i'm trying to add sources to yast i want to know do i hav to be online to be able to add sources to yast

  7. #6
    Just Joined! ironduke's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Brisbane Queensland Australia
    Posts
    89
    Try it and see :^)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •