Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
hey everyone, im new to linux. ive really only been playing around with it for about 2 weeks or so but i think im catchin on pretty quick. my question ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined! emazur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    12

    dual monitor question


    hey everyone,
    im new to linux. ive really only been playing around with it for about 2 weeks or so but i think im catchin on pretty quick.

    my question is: im running suse 10.1, now when i used windows i could run dual monitors by using my onboard gfx card and my radeon 9250 (128mb). i was wondering if it was also possible to do that with linux too.

    i figured it was worth a try, so i went ahead and popped in the radeon ( my machine is already using the onboard as primary ) and i did a little fishing around. i found that linux reads my card as a pci device but i wasnt sure how to install the drivers and/or enable it.

    thanx for anything u have to offer.

    Ed

  2. #2
    Linux User glussier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Montreal, Qué, Canada
    Posts
    255
    Do you want to do big desktop (xinorama) , clone or dual-head?

    Are you using the Radeon driver provided by Suse or the proprietary driver from the ATI website?

    If you are using the Mesalib Radeon drivers provided by suse, go in Yast/hardware/monitor and you can set your dual monitor configuration there.

    Also note that hardware Opengl support for your card is already included with the Mesa drivers, so you don't need the fglrx drivers from ATI.

  3. #3
    Just Joined! emazur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by glussier
    Do you want to do big desktop (xinorama) , clone or dual-head?

    Are you using the Radeon driver provided by Suse or the proprietary driver from the ATI website?

    If you are using the Mesalib Radeon drivers provided by suse, go in Yast/hardware/monitor and you can set your dual monitor configuration there.

    Also note that hardware Opengl support for your card is already included with the Mesa drivers, so you don't need the fglrx drivers from ATI.
    well, i wasnt too sure the difference.. i just know that i want them to be seperate desktops ( which is what im assuming dual-head is as opposed to clone ) ive never heard of xinorama.

    as for drivers i was planning on using the drivers provided by suse. the thing is, is that i went into yast/monitor but i couldnt configure the card.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux User glussier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Montreal, Qué, Canada
    Posts
    255
    Show me your /etc/X11/xorg.conf file, I'll do the mods for dual-head.

  6. #5
    Just Joined! emazur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by glussier
    Show me your /etc/X11/xorg.conf file, I'll do the mods for dual-head.
    # /.../
    # SaX generated X11 config file
    # Created on: 2006-09-19T18:00:00-0400.
    #
    # Version: 7.1
    # Contact: Marcus Schaefer <sax@suse.de>, 2005
    # Contact: SaX-User list < https://lists.berlios.de/mailman/listinfo/sax-users>
    #
    # Automatically generated by [ISaX] (7.1)
    # PLEASE DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE!
    #

    Section "Files"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/misc:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/local"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/75dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/100dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Type1"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/URW"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/Speedo"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/PEX"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/cyrillic"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/latin2/misc:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/latin2/75dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/latin2/100dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/latin2/Type1"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/latin7/75dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/baekmuk:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/japanese:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/kwintv"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/truetype"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/uni:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/CID"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/ucs/misc:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/ucs/75dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/ucs/100dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/hellas/misc:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/hellas/75dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/hellas/100dpi:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/hellas/Type1"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/misc/sgi:unscaled"
    FontPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/fonts/xtest"
    FontPath "/opt/kde3/share/fonts"
    InputDevices "/dev/gpmdata"
    InputDevices "/dev/input/mice"
    EndSection

    Section "ServerFlags"
    Option "AllowMouseOpenFail" "on"
    EndSection

    Section "Module"
    Load "dbe"
    Load "type1"
    Load "freetype"
    Load "extmod"
    Load "glx"
    Load "v4l"
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"
    Driver "kbd"
    Identifier "Keyboard[0]"
    Option "Protocol" "Standard"
    Option "XkbLayout" "us"
    Option "XkbModel" "pc104"
    Option "XkbRules" "xfree86"
    EndSection


    Section "InputDevice"
    Driver "mouse"
    Identifier "Mouse[1]"
    Option "Buttons" "5"
    Option "Device" "/dev/input/mice"
    Option "Name" "Logitech Optical USB Mouse"
    Option "Protocol" "explorerps/2"
    Option "Vendor" "Sysp"
    Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    EndSection


    Section "Monitor"
    Option "CalcAlgorithm" "XServerPool"
    DisplaySize 310 230
    HorizSync 30-70
    Identifier "Monitor[0]"
    ModelName "HP HP MX704"
    Option "DPMS"
    VendorName "HWP"
    VertRefresh 43-140
    UseModes "Modes[0]"
    EndSection


    Section "Modes"
    Identifier "Modes[0]"
    EndSection


    Section "Screen"
    DefaultDepth 24
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 15
    Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 16
    Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 24
    Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600"
    EndSubSection
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 8
    Modes "1280x1024" "1024x768" "800x600"
    EndSubSection
    Device "Device[0]"
    Identifier "Screen[0]"
    Monitor "Monitor[0]"
    EndSection


    Section "Device"
    BoardName "915 G"
    BusID "0:2:0"
    Driver "i810"
    Identifier "Device[0]"
    Option "NoDDC"
    VendorName "Intel"
    EndSection


    Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "Layout[all]"
    InputDevice "Keyboard[0]" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice "Mouse[1]" "CorePointer"
    Option "Clone" "off"
    Option "Xinerama" "off"
    Screen "Screen[0]"
    EndSection


    Section "DRI"
    Group "video"
    Mode 0660
    EndSection

    Section "Extensions"
    EndSection

  7. #6
    Linux User glussier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Montreal, Qué, Canada
    Posts
    255
    You said that your video card is a Radeon 9250 and you are showing me an xorg.conf file with using a driver for an onboard i810 video card. So can you tell me what video card you are really using?

  8. #7
    Just Joined! emazur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    12
    right now i have my primary monitor on the onboard ( i810 ) and my secondary monitor is on the Radeon buts its not showing me anything on the secondary. do i need to enable to radeon as my primary under my bios and try to reboot with just that connected?

    ( thank you for all your help. im sorry if im at all frustrating, like i said, im new - lol )

  9. #8
    Linux User glussier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Montreal, Qué, Canada
    Posts
    255
    You need both a device and a monitor section for your Radeon.

    Is there place for 2 videos out on the Radeon?

  10. #9
    Just Joined! emazur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    12
    yes, 3, actually... dvi, vga, svideo. i dont have any dvi-vga connectors and thats why i was wondering if i could use the vga on my radeon and the vga-onboard ( i810 ) to dual screen.

  11. #10
    Linux User glussier's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Montreal, Qué, Canada
    Posts
    255
    Yes you can. So do the command

    /sbin/lspci and show me the result.

    I need this, 'cause I need to know which port is being used by your ati card.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •