Find the answer to your Linux question:
Yesterday I installed SuSE 9.1 Personal on my computer, and it told me "Your monitor didn't report its X-size and Y-Size, this might cause display problems like unreadable fonts. Do ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

x, y size, gaim, panel

Yesterday I installed SuSE 9.1 Personal on my computer, and it told me "Your monitor didn't report its X-size and Y-Size, this might cause display problems like unreadable fonts. Do you want to configure your monitor geometry manually?" I clicked "yes" and I did, completely arbitrarily, since I have no experience with this. Get ready to laugh. I set x to 13 and y to 9 I think, just to see what would happen. After restarting, everything was so big that I couldn't even get back to the Control Center to change the values back. I am currently in the process of reinstalling SuSE (heh), and will have to go through the whole thing again. Does anyone know what values I should set? I have a 15" monitor on a Fujitsu notebook (C series), if that matters.

Also, I was trying to install GAIM, because I couldn't find it in the the setup. Can anyone help me out with this? I downloaded the rpm or whatever and chose to install it with YaST, but I couldn't find where to open it.

Also another thing (sorry): does anyone know how to make the panel go across the entire length of the bottom screen?

(As you can see, I am fully new at this. Thanks a lot.)

-Bloštjörn

Linux Guru

Re: x, y size, gaim, panel

Quote Originally Posted by bloštjörn
    Yesterday I installed SuSE 9.1 Personal on my computer, and it told me "Your monitor didn't report its X-size and Y-Size, this might cause display problems like unreadable fonts. Do you want to configure your monitor geometry manually?"