Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
So as a complete beginner to linux, I've found that some things (that I want to have) that many distributions come with automatically (including possibly SuSE 9.1 Professional?) are not ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada / Santa Cruz, CA
    Posts
    25

    shortcomings of SuSE 9.1 personal


    So as a complete beginner to linux, I've found that some things (that I want to have) that many distributions come with automatically (including possibly SuSE 9.1 Professional?) are not included in SuSE 9.1 Personal. Kile, Gaim, and a gcc compiler are a few of these. Am I wrong?

    Can anyone help me install these (especially the gcc compiler so that I can compile my extracted tar files)? I have some rpms but they don't seem to be installing when I try to open them through YaST or when I "rpm i-" them in the shell.

    Also, is there a place where I can see all the rpm packages I've installed and where they've installed?

    Thanks, everyone.

  2. #2
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    796
    With rpm you can do magic

    With
    Code:
    rpm -qa
    you can see all installed rpm packages
    With
    Code:
    rpm -qi <package>
    you can see short information about the pacakge
    With
    Code:
    rpm -ql <package>
    you can list all files included in the specific package.

    Regards

    Andutt

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada / Santa Cruz, CA
    Posts
    25
    it's not working. whenever i type any of these commands, this is what i get:

    -----------------------------------------------------
    blodtjorn@dhcppc4:~> rpm qa-
    RPM version 4.1.1
    Copyright (C) 1998-2002 - Red Hat, Inc.
    This program may be freely redistributed under the terms of the GNU GPL

    Usage: rpm [-aKfgpqV] [-aKfgpqVcdilPs] [-aKfgpqVcdilPsaKfgpqV] [-aKfgpqVcdilPsaKfgpqV] [-aKfgpqVcdilPsaKfgpqVK] [-aKfgpqVcdilPsaKfgpqVK] [-aKfgpqVcdilPsaKfgpqVKi] [-aKfgpqVcdilPsaKfgpqVKiv] [-aKfgpqVcdilPsaKfgpqVKiv] [-aKfgpqVcdilPsaKfgpqVKiv?] [-a|--all] [-f|--file] [-g|--group]
    [-p|--package] [--specfile] [--whatrequires] [--whatprovides]
    [-c|--configfiles] [-d|--docfiles] [--dump] [-l|--list] [-P|--patches]
    [--queryformat=QUERYFORMAT] [-s|--state] [--nomd5] [--nofiles]
    [--nodeps] [--noscript] [--addsign] [-K|--checksig] [--import]
    [--resign] [--nodigest] [--nosignature] [--initdb] [--rebuilddb]
    [--aid] [--allfiles] [--allmatches] [--badreloc]
    [-e|--erase <package>+] [--excludedocs] [--excludepath=<path>]
    [--force] [-F|--freshen <packagefile>+] [-h|--hash] [--ignorearch]
    [--ignoreos] [--ignoresize] [-i|--install] [--justdb] [--nodeps]
    [--nomd5] [--noorder] [--nosuggest] [--noscripts] [--notriggers]
    [--oldpackage] [--percent] [--prefix=<dir>] [--relocate=[list=1]=<new>]
    [--repackage] [--replacefiles] [--replacepkgs] [--test]
    [-U|--upgrade <packagefile>+] [-D|--define 'MACRO EXPR']
    [-E|--eval 'EXPR'] [--macros=<FILE:...>] [--nodigest] [--nosignature]
    [--rcfile=<FILE:...>] [-r|--root ROOT] [--querytags] [--showrc]
    [--quiet] [-v|--verbose] [--version] [-?|--help] [--usage]
    [--scripts] [--setperms] [--setugids] [--conflicts] [--obsoletes]
    [--provides] [--requires] [--basedon] [--info] [--changelog]
    [--triggers] [--last] [--filesbypkg] [--fileclass] [--filecolor]
    [--buildpolicy=<policy>] [--with=<option>] [--without=<option>]
    ------------------------------------

    weird, eh? this is also what i was getting when i was trying to install things by typing rpm i- <thing>. must not have been installing them after all.

  4. #4
    Linux Engineer
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    796
    You have the - on the wrong side, Not rpm qa-. But rpm -qa.

    And for installation rpm -ivh <packagename>

    Try that and post in the output if it dont work..
    Regards

    Andutt

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada / Santa Cruz, CA
    Posts
    25
    here's when i tried to install gaim:

    dhcppc4:/home/blodtjorn/Documents # rpm -ivh gaim-0.77-0.src.rpm
    warning: gaim-0.77-0.src.rpm: V3 DSA signature: NOKEY, key ID 883c1c14
    1:gaim warning: user elb does not exist - using root
    warning: group elb does not exist - using root
    ########################################### [100%]
    warning: user elb does not exist - using root
    warning: group elb does not exist - using root

    and here's when i tried to install kile:

    dhcppc4:/home/blodtjorn/Documents # rpm -ivh kile-1.6.2-1.src.rpm
    1:kile ########################################### [100%]

    then:

    dhcppc4:~ # rpm -ql gaim-0.77-0
    package gaim-0.77-0 is not installed
    dhcppc4:~ # rpm -ql kile-1.6.2-1
    package kile-1.6.2-1 is not installed

    (?)

  6. #6
    Linux Enthusiast Opnosforatou's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Vleuten, The Netherlands
    Posts
    552
    The warning message from the gaim install is that you don't have the username nor the groupname that was used during the making of the rpm.
    Ignore it. No harm done.

    To query if it's installed use:
    Code:
    rpm -qa | grep gaim
    To check for kile:
    Code:
    rpm -qa | grep kile
    here is a grep from my rpm db.
    [martijnl@illith martijnl]$ rpm -qa | grep gaim
    gaim-0.77-2.FC1
    [martijnl@illith martijnl]$
    ---[ MS09-99896 - Vulnerability in All MS Windows OS ; Using Windows Could Allow Remote Code Execution. ]---
    Hardware: Asus P4P800, 1GB, P4-3Ghz, Asus V9950, Maxtor ATA HD\'s, 3Com GBit lan, Audigy ZS Plat.

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada / Santa Cruz, CA
    Posts
    25
    when i type those things into my shell i get no output (even when i then add the version numbers and stuff). i don't see them installed anywhere. so i'm trying to power my way through th ./configure stuff for the tar files. i get this error message though:

    checking for libz... configure: error: not found.
    Possibly configure picks up an outdated version
    installed by XFree86. Remove it from your system.

    Check your installation and look into config.log

    does anyone know what this means? i installed XFree86 to get past the not finding X problem or some other thing i was missing related to "X" but now i get this.

    hmmmmmm.

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Northwestern New Jersey
    Posts
    72
    hmm, that's odd. I thought the YaST system handled package management with SuSE? Maybe you should take a look at that.

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Montreal, Canada / Santa Cruz, CA
    Posts
    25
    yeah i know! totally weird. i think i might need to install the xlibs-dev package... does anyone know where i can get the rpm for this?

  10. #10
    mjj
    mjj is offline
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Odense, Denmark / Citizen of the Web
    Posts
    4

    The Libs

    Yes, for some bizarre reason, SuSE did not think compilers necessary this time in the 9.1 Personal. I have just ordered it, so I inquired around. A friend told me that some of it could be found with YOU. If not, you should look at freshrpms.net or rpmfind.net.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •