Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4
Results 31 to 39 of 39
Originally Posted by Zirconium sorry what do you mean by switch DE, and XFCE? //Offtopic DE is Desktop Envoirment XFCE was XForms Common Environment. //Ontopic...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #31
    Linux Engineer RobinVossen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    1,429

    Quote Originally Posted by Zirconium View Post
    sorry what do you mean by switch DE, and XFCE?
    //Offtopic
    DE is Desktop Envoirment
    XFCE was XForms Common Environment.
    //Ontopic
    New Users, please read this..
    Google first, then ask..

  2. #32
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    143
    Quote Originally Posted by devils_casper View Post
    Some is wrong somewhere. Uninstall firefox and download firefox tar package from here. Right click on downloaded package and select Extract Here. it will create FireFox folder. Open Firefox folder and look for firefox file in it. Double click on that. FireFox should pop up and work properly.
    I've already tried that, but when I click it, nothing happens, theres a flash though

  3. #33
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Ok ! Open Terminal and cd to downloaded folder. Execute this
    Code:
    cd <path_of_firefox_folder>
    firefox
    Post exact error message here.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  4. #34
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    143
    extracted or non-extracted?

  5. #35
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Extracted only. You can't cd to an un-extracted tar file.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #36
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    143
    there was no error message, it opened up in the same way as the deb one did, so thats no longer the problem, the problem is that neither firefox or thunderbird can access the net

  7. #37
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    143
    I tried Iceweasel, and it IS Firefox, every last bit the same but the icons and name, and also can't access the net, so please, how do I give thunderbird and firefox access to the net?

  8. #38
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    143
    I've discovered the problem, it was not the DE or Firefox themselves, it was the coding in the Ubuntu I got, so I burnt a Zenwalk Live CD, and I am now posting/ posted this with Firefox

    Thank you all for your time and effort, I really appreciate it

  9. #39
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    1
    Quote Originally Posted by RobinVossen View Post
    Goto Term.
    and try:
    sudo apt-get update
    sudo apt-get install thunderbird. (or IceDove)
    If that doesnt work check out the website of Thunderbird.
    There you can download a precompiled package.
    If anyone is still looking for this answer, I got Thunderbird to install on Kubuntu 6.06 with apt-get like this:

    sudo apt-get install mozilla-thunderbird

    Trying with just 'thunderbird' as the package name did not work, but this did.

    -jeff

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •