Find the answer to your Linux question:
unfortunately, i need to keep windows xp home on my system, but i also want ubuntu. i only have one harddrive and am using hp system recovery disks, not regular ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Need multiboot help

unfortunately, i need to keep windows xp home on my system, but i also want ubuntu. i only have one harddrive and am using hp system recovery disks, not regular xp cd. i couldnt find any answers on the forums. im new to both multibooting and linux, so if you could go slow and be gentle that would be much appreciated. im currently working off of the ubuntu live cd. How do I make a multiboot system with Ubuntu and Windows XP Home edition?

oz
    forum.guy
    Welcome to the forums!

You must have some unallocated space on your drive to install Linux, meaning that if Windows is using the entire drive, you will have to shrink your Windows partition to make room for Linux. The Ubuntu installer can handle that chore for you, but it would be wise to defragment your Windows partition before doing so, using the Windows defag tool built right into XP.

Another option would be to use the PartedMagic LiveCD to shrink your Windows partition, again defragging first. Then when you run the Ubuntu installer, just direct it to use the free space you've just created. How much free space to create is up to you, but you'll need about 6 to 8 GB for your root partition, about 1 GB (more or less) for a Swap partition, and maybe another 6 to 8 GB for a /home partition if you want a separate home partition. I recommend making one.

The installer will give you an option to dual boot between Linux and Windows.
    oz

Just Joined!

?