Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi I am new to Ubuntu and the various linux programs. What sparked my interest was last year I tried to install a Audacity program that came with a USB ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

New to Ubuntu

Hi I am new to Ubuntu and the various linux programs. What sparked my interest was last year I tried to install a Audacity program that came with a USB Ion turntable I purchased. Long story short it had as many bugs as a roach motel and would not work with my windows 98 program. I then found out via web pages that Audacity works with Ubuntu.

After having my computer fried I was looked further into to Ubuntu. Now the problem I have is I ordered some discs from a dealer off of ebay and the discs did not work. I have a HP 4590 with 128 RAM and 8 GB of hard drive. It would not work as Edubuntu and Kubuntu menus would not start. Ubuntu and Xubuntu menus would pop up. The problem with most if not all is that I would get the following error.

There was an error starting the gnome settings daemon.
    Some things, such as themes, sounds or background settings may not work correctly.
    The last message was:
    Did not receive a reply. Possible casues include the remote application did not send a reply, the message bus security policy blocked the reply, the reply timeout expired. Or the network connection was broken.
    Gnome will still try to restart the settings daemon next time you log in.

At this point my mouse would not work and I could not click on the close button at all. Matter of fact, it took 20 or more minutes to even get to that screen.

Would I better be using a differnt Linux program such as Slackware 12? How does this effect getting an internet provider? Will Juno, PeoplePC, Earthlink use any linux programs or will I have to get Windows again?

Not a computer person and would appreciate any feedback.

Thank you in advance.

Newone