Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
i resently got mobile broadband but it doesnt load in linux. i have a dual boot with windows xp & ubuntu gutsy gibbon i cant seem to get anything to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    5

    help installing


    i resently got mobile broadband but it doesnt load in linux.
    i have a dual boot with windows xp & ubuntu gutsy gibbon i cant seem to get anything to install i have even tried installing wine but i cant get my head around how to install anything even if it's on the ubuntu disk as it comes up with errors all the time & every app i try fails to load could anyone help plz as i really wanna get rid of windows.
    any help would be greatfully recived
    Sani

  2. #2
    Blackfooted Penguin daark.child's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    West Yorks
    Posts
    4,393
    Whats type of device are you using for the mobile broadband. When you plug it in and run "dmesg" what is the output (post the section that shows info about the modem and not all the output of dmesg)?

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    5

    modem

    i use the Three usb dongle modem if thats any help
    sani

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Blackfooted Penguin daark.child's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    West Yorks
    Posts
    4,393
    That helps a bit, but we need the output of dmesg to get more info about the device itself.

  6. #5
    Linux Enthusiast Manchunian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    France but my heart stays in Britain
    Posts
    675
    Judging by your level of experience, I expect you might not know how to do the above command. Click on Applications in the top bar, then Accessories then Terminal. A little Window will open with a blinking cursor. When you get this, type the following command and press enter:

    Code:
    dmesg
    Distribution: Archlinux
    Processor: 3 x Amd 64 bit
    Ram: 4 GB
    Graphics card: Nvidia GeForce 9800 GT

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    5

    dmesg

    i typed in dmesg & got the report thing but i cant see any refrences to the modem thats plugged in.
    sorry for being stupid
    sani

  8. #7
    Blackfooted Penguin daark.child's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    West Yorks
    Posts
    4,393
    Do you have a link that shows what the modem looks like? I have a modem on 3 UK, which is a huawei e220. It looks like this one. Is that the same one you have?

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    5

    modem

    no it's the black & green one Deal Summary

  10. #9
    Linux Enthusiast Manchunian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    France but my heart stays in Britain
    Posts
    675
    No wires, no hassles
    Will Linux be able to handle this, I wonder?
    Distribution: Archlinux
    Processor: 3 x Amd 64 bit
    Ram: 4 GB
    Graphics card: Nvidia GeForce 9800 GT

  11. #10
    Linux Enthusiast Manchunian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    France but my heart stays in Britain
    Posts
    675
    Apparently yes, because daark child's is also a no wires no hassle one.
    Distribution: Archlinux
    Processor: 3 x Amd 64 bit
    Ram: 4 GB
    Graphics card: Nvidia GeForce 9800 GT

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •