Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 8 of 8
I was using Ubuntu 7.10 but didn't like GNOME so I decided to reformat my computer and install Kubuntu 8.04. I just installed it. I have two hard drives, one ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    187

    Missing Hard drive


    I was using Ubuntu 7.10 but didn't like GNOME so I decided to reformat my computer and install Kubuntu 8.04. I just installed it. I have two hard drives, one SATA drive and one ATA drive. I have the SATA drive set as the primary drive and the ATA drive set as slave. I have reformatted my computer several times before and have had no problem with (K)ubuntu finding the drives. Though this time, it didn't register my ATA drive. It's not in the /dev folder either. I even tried going into QTparted and that just showed one drive. What should I do to fix this? I don't know if lspci will help but here it is:

    00:00.0 Host bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. K8T800Pro Host Bridge
    00:00.1 Host bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. K8T800Pro Host Bridge
    00:00.2 Host bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. K8T800Pro Host Bridge
    00:00.3 Host bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. K8T800Pro Host Bridge
    00:00.4 Host bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. K8T800Pro Host Bridge
    00:00.7 Host bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. K8T800Pro Host Bridge
    00:01.0 PCI bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8237 PCI bridge [K8T800/K8T890 South]
    00:0b.0 Multimedia audio controller: Creative Labs SB Live! EMU10k1 (rev 07)
    00:0b.1 Input device controller: Creative Labs SB Live! Game Port (rev 07)
    00:0d.0 Ethernet controller: National Semiconductor Corporation DP83815 (MacPhyter) Ethernet Controller
    00:0f.0 RAID bus controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VIA VT6420 SATA RAID Controller (rev 80)
    00:0f.1 IDE interface: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C586A/B/VT82C686/A/B/VT823x/A/C PIPC Bus Master IDE (rev 06)
    00:10.0 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 81)
    00:10.1 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 81)
    00:10.2 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 81)
    00:10.3 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82xxxxx UHCI USB 1.1 Controller (rev 81)
    00:10.4 USB Controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. USB 2.0 (rev 86)
    00:11.0 ISA bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8237 ISA bridge [KT600/K8T800/K8T890 South]
    00:11.5 Multimedia audio controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT8233/A/8235/8237 AC97 Audio Controller (rev 60)
    00:11.6 Communication controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. AC'97 Modem Controller (rev 80)
    00:12.0 Ethernet controller: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT6102 [Rhine-II] (rev 7
    00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] HyperTransport Technology Configuration
    00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Address Map
    00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] DRAM Controller
    00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] K8 [Athlon64/Opteron] Miscellaneous Control
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc RV350 AP [Radeon 9600]
    01:00.1 Display controller: ATI Technologies Inc RV350 AP [Radeon 9600] (Secondary)

  2. #2
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,045
    What does
    Code:
    sudo fdisk -l
    report?

    Is the hard drive disabled in BIOS?

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    187
    fdisk -l reports:

    Disk /dev/sda: 200.0 GB, 200049647616 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 24321 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x00098045

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 * 1 7649 61440561 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda2 7650 16152 68300347+ 83 Linux
    /dev/sda3 16153 24056 63488880 83 Linux
    /dev/sda4 24057 24321 2128612+ 82 Linux swap / Solaris
    I don't believe it's disabled. I actually checked the bios earlier to see if it was and it was showing the drive as an enabled drive.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,045
    The only other thing I can think of is checking connection leads for the drive. Can you hear the drive spin up to speed?

    Anyone else any ideas on this one?

    Ed: can you try with the Ubuntu live CD and make sure its not a hardware problem?

  6. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    187
    Well, I just checked my BIOS and the only problem I thought could have happened was my drives were flopped. So I switched the priority of disks. That helped with GRUB (I was having to edit the line and say hd1,1 instead of hd0,1) but it didn't help with fdisk. I'm still getting

    Disk /dev/sda: 200.0 GB, 200049647616 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 24321 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x00098045

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 * 1 7649 61440561 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda2 7650 16152 68300347+ 83 Linux
    /dev/sda3 16153 24056 63488880 83 Linux
    /dev/sda4 24057 24321 2128612+ 82 Linux swap / Solaris

  7. #6
    Linux Guru Jonathan183's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    3,045
    Does the Ubuntu live CD you used to install Ubuntu recognize the drive?

  8. #7
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    187
    No, it did not. I figured I could just repair that problem once I had Kubuntu installed. I'll just reformat my computer again (I keep my home folder on that second drive) which is why it's kind of essential. But I don't keep really anything on the first drive so it'll be okay. Hopefully the CD will recognize it this time.

  9. #8
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Something is wrong with cables or Hard Disk only. If LiveCD is not detecting HD then installed OS will also not detect it. Have you tried to plug-in and check HD in other Machine?
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •