Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 6 of 6
I am getting an error trying to start Adept. Another process is using the packaging system database (probably some other Adept application or apt-get or aptitude). Would you like to ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    85

    Adept error msg


    I am getting an error trying to start Adept.

    Another process is using the packaging system database (probably some other Adept application or apt-get or aptitude).
    Would you like to attempt to resolve this problem? No will enter read-only mode and Cancel to quit and resolve this issue yourself.


    Here is the error report. Any help? I know these are "teething" pains, but I'm really not all that happy with Linux right now.

    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    [Thread debugging using libthread_db enabled]
    [New Thread 0x7fe1486b96f0 (LWP 5709)]
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    (no debugging symbols found)
    [KCrash handler]
    #5 0x00007fe14146a095 in raise () from /lib/libc.so.6
    #6 0x00007fe14146baf0 in abort () from /lib/libc.so.6
    #7 0x00007fe141cef0e4 in __gnu_cxx::__verbose_terminate_handler ()
    from /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6
    #8 0x00007fe141ced076 in ?? () from /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6
    #9 0x00007fe141ced0a3 in std::terminate () from /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6
    #10 0x00007fe141ced18a in __cxa_throw () from /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6
    #11 0x00000000004b7871 in ?? ()
    #12 0x00000000004b7cb4 in ?? ()
    #13 0x00000000004b9203 in ?? ()
    #14 0x00000000004ed1e4 in ?? ()
    #15 0x00000000004589f6 in ?? ()
    #16 0x0000000000437ce9 in ?? ()
    #17 0x00000000004387c4 in ?? ()
    #18 0x00007fe1454b4fd0 in QObject::activate_signal ()
    from /usr/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
    #19 0x00007fe14582d181 in QSignal::signal () from /usr/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
    #20 0x00007fe1454d31a3 in QSignal::activate () from /usr/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
    #21 0x00007fe1454da9e4 in QSingleShotTimer::event ()
    from /usr/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
    #22 0x00007fe14544d33a in QApplication::internalNotify ()
    from /usr/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
    #23 0x00007fe14544f093 in QApplication::notify () from /usr/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
    #24 0x00007fe14676a40d in KApplication::notify ()
    from /usr/lib/libkdecore.so.4
    #25 0x00007fe1453de20e in QApplication::sendEvent ()
    from /usr/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
    #26 0x00007fe145440abc in QEventLoop::activateTimers ()
    from /usr/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
    #27 0x00007fe1453f3107 in QEventLoop::ProcessEvents ()
    from /usr/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
    #28 0x00007fe1454675bf in QEventLoop::enterLoop () from /usr/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
    #29 0x00007fe1454672ab in QEventLoop::exec () from /usr/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
    #30 0x00007fe14544ee00 in QApplication::exec () from /usr/lib/libqt-mt.so.3
    #31 0x0000000000433fe4 in ?? ()
    #32 0x00007fe1414561c4 in __libc_start_main () from /lib/libc.so.6
    #33 0x0000000000433c89 in ?? ()
    #34 0x00007fff506e4568 in ?? ()
    #35 0x0000000000000000 in ?? ()

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Greece, Athens
    Posts
    214
    Did you run the update manager, apt-get, aptitude or add-remove programs at the same time? If this is the case, then close the other application and adept will work fine.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    85
    As far as I know, there are no other instances of anything else running. That's why I'm a little confused. I even restarted the computer hoping to shut down anything that might be running that I wasn't aware of.

  4. #4
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    85
    I can't get this figured out. Is there any way to reinstall Linux without wiping everything else out?

  5. #5
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Execute this
    Code:
    sudo apt-get clean all
    sudo apt-get update
    sudo apt-get install htop
    Post exact error message here, if any.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    85
    You are my new HERO!!!

    My biggest problem was getting by the Java "terms of use" page. I had gotten to it before, but I didn't know how to get by it.

    Finally figured out to use the arrows in place of the mouse. I never liked Windows because I thought it made people "computer stupid" and I guess I'm a victim!

    I don't want to ask you to expain what I just did, but if I type "help htop", I should be able to get some idea?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •