Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hello. I'd like to first of all point out I'm a newbie at Linux (installed it last night) so everything is different from Windows, obviously, but I'm getting the hang ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Firefox/Flash has no sound for my headset?

Hello. I'd like to first of all point out I'm a newbie at Linux (installed it last night) so everything is different from Windows, obviously, but I'm getting the hang of it. My problem is that when I'm watching a flash video, the sound comes out of my speakers and not my headset. The headset is plugged into a USB slot. Is there a fix to this? Thanks

Hi Lil Jimmy and welcome to the forums. I might not be able to tell you in an exact way how to solve your problem, but I can sure give you insight into it.

I have a Logitech USB headset (which includes) microphone, and when running anything from Firefox, I cannot hear sound through the headset. The reason for this (at least in my case) is that the USB headset is detected as a separate sound device just like your sound card is. Firefox is using your sound card in your computer as the default device. That's why you can hear sound through your speakers. You have to set the headset as the default sound device in order to hear Firefox sounds through them.

To do this, open gmix (under sound in your menu). Click on "file" and "Change device." Then choose your headset from the choice(s) given. Save, close and restart Firefox. If you are using a similar headset to mine, that should get you Firefox sound through your headset.

EDIT: Okay, I just tried what I said here on my Ubuntu machine and cannot get sound from Firefox either. That's weird because I could have sworn this is what I did to get Firefox sound when I was running BLAG (FC 7). I'll look into it some more.

EDIT 2: I got mine working. Here's what I did:

Open a terminal and type in:
    Code: