Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
while using ubuntu 8.04 please tell me!!!...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux User kmitnick's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Jordan - Amman
    Posts
    329

    how to increase my swap area while...


    while using ubuntu 8.04
    please tell me!!!
    Dual Booting Ubuntu 10.04, Windows 7

    Toshiba Satellite A200-1M5, Duo Core 2.0 Ghz, 1 Gigs RAM, 256 Intel Card

    You are registered Linux user number 490788
    Happy Linuxing

  2. #2
    Linux Guru coopstah13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    3,149
    how much swap do you want? the basic idea is to create a file of the size you need, and then add it as a swap file

    you would do something like this
    Code:
    sudo dd if=/dev/zero of=/swap1.swp bs=1024 count=1048576
    sudo swapon /swap1.swp
    that would add a 1 gb swap file

  3. #3
    Linux User kmitnick's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Jordan - Amman
    Posts
    329
    abed@abed-laptop:~$ sudo dd if=/dev/zero of=/swap1.swp bs=1024 count=1048576
    [sudo] password for abed:
    1048576+0 records in
    1048576+0 records out
    1073741824 bytes (1.1 GB) copied, 27.0363 s, 39.7 MB/s
    abed@abed-laptop:~$ sudo swapon /swap1.swp
    swapon: /swap1.swp: Invalid argument
    abed@abed-laptop:~$ sudo swapon /swap1.swp
    swapon: /swap1.swp: Invalid argument
    abed@abed-laptop:~$
    dude i believe the first line went sweet but the second command!!!!

    and can u explain it for me ? even the numbers??
    Dual Booting Ubuntu 10.04, Windows 7

    Toshiba Satellite A200-1M5, Duo Core 2.0 Ghz, 1 Gigs RAM, 256 Intel Card

    You are registered Linux user number 490788
    Happy Linuxing

  4. #4
    Linux Guru coopstah13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    3,149
    sorry i made a booboo
    it should be
    Code:
    sudo swapon -a /swap1.swp
    bs=1024, this is specifying a block size of 1024 bytes or 1 kilobyte
    count=1048576

    this is how many blocks you want to have the file to be, 1048576 blocks * 1024 bytes/block = 1 gigabyte
    Last edited by coopstah13; 07-09-2008 at 08:25 PM. Reason: i messed it up AGAIN

  5. #5
    Linux User kmitnick's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Jordan - Amman
    Posts
    329
    thnx bro u were helpful thnx
    and about my first command line did u go well?
    Dual Booting Ubuntu 10.04, Windows 7

    Toshiba Satellite A200-1M5, Duo Core 2.0 Ghz, 1 Gigs RAM, 256 Intel Card

    You are registered Linux user number 490788
    Happy Linuxing

  6. #6
    Linux User kmitnick's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Jordan - Amman
    Posts
    329
    abed@abed-laptop:~$ sudo swapon -a /swap1.swp
    swapon: /swap1.swp: Invalid argument
    abed@abed-laptop:~$
    dude wut's wrong?
    Dual Booting Ubuntu 10.04, Windows 7

    Toshiba Satellite A200-1M5, Duo Core 2.0 Ghz, 1 Gigs RAM, 256 Intel Card

    You are registered Linux user number 490788
    Happy Linuxing

  7. #7
    Linux Guru coopstah13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    3,149
    sorry, i was just kind of making it up as I went hoping it would work
    Code:
    gksu gedit /etc/fstab
    add this to the end of fstab file
    Code:
    /swap1.swp       none            swap    sw              0       0
    then run
    Code:
    sudo swapon -a
    I've only added swap file on running solaris, i hope this works this time

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •