Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hi all, I've been trying to install Ubuntu for most of the day, using the official Ubuntu CD. Don't have Windows, so I just want to put the disc in, ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Partitioning problems when installing Ubuntu 8.04

Hi all,

I've been trying to install Ubuntu for most of the day, using the official Ubuntu CD. Don't have Windows, so I just want to put the disc in, and have Ubuntu as my sole OS (no dual-boot etc.). The normal installation always freezes, so I run it in safe graphics mode, and it works fine up until a point.

I get to the step in the installation process that is about partitioning, and as I'm fairly new to this, I initially selected the guided method, and finished the rest of the steps. When it tried to partition, it would get to 5% and then I would get this message:

"Failed to create a file system

The ext3 file system creation in partition #1 of SCSI1 (0,0,0)(sda) failed." (or something about the swap file etc.)

I tried again repeatedly, but always with the same result. Tried to do it manually, and would create a new partition tree (or whatever it's called), create a 20 GB ext3 file system for the /, and also create a 2GB swap one, and leave the rest unfilled, and try to proceed, but I would get the exact same message, also at 5%. I'm getting a bit frustrated, and would be eternally grateful for any advice.

Just Joined!
    Ok first thing I would do is reburn the disk at the slowest speed if that doesn't work report back and we can think of something else.

Just Joined!
    I'm pretty sure it's not the disc as it's one I ordered, so I'm guessing the problem should be elsewhere. One person advised me to use Gparted to create the partitions, so I might try that.

For the partitions, I was thinking one for / that would be 20GB, a 2GB swap and putting the rest as a /home. But for /home and / what file system would you recommend? Ext3?