Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
Hey everyone, I have a small problem. I have a Seagate Baracudda 320GB Sata drive that doesn't seem to want to show up in Kubuntu 8.04 (Hardy Heron). It is ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    3

    Help. Sata Drive not Showing


    Hey everyone,

    I have a small problem. I have a Seagate Baracudda 320GB Sata drive that doesn't seem to want to show up in Kubuntu 8.04 (Hardy Heron). It is formatted with NTSC and before anyone asks, I also have a Samsung IDE 120GB hard drive also formatted in NTSC which does show up and I can access it. So my question is... what can I do to have it show up?

    And yes, my Bios sees the drive as well. Now, another thing I tried was change the Sata plugin from Sata1 to Sata2. Showed up for one session and after I reboot and log back in, its no longer showing.

    Any help will be appreciated in this matter.
    Thanks in advanced,
    Aylen

  2. #2
    oz
    oz is offline
    forum.guy
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    arch linux
    Posts
    18,733
    Try turning on legacy IDE support in your BIOS.

    Hope it works.
    oz

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    3
    I have a American MegaTrends Bios settings. I don't see anywhere where it mentions Legacy IDE Support.

    Thanks again,
    Aylen

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined! 1fastbullet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Montgomery, Texas, USA
    Posts
    38

    Yep, I've been there

    A month ago I had the same problem with a Seagate sata 'Cuda 250GB. My Bios kept telling me it was "not ATAPI Compatible".
    Made me crazy as a loon and I couldn't get answers from either Seagate or the MoBo mfgr.
    The Seagate HDD I got had a sticker on it that said something to the effect that the SATA drive did not need any jumpers to configure it as Master/Slave. Fine, I got that. The sticker then went on to say that the jumper locations on the drive "are for factory use only". Fine, got that, too.
    But I swear I saw a freaking jumper on the drive when I installed it into my new machine. It turned out I was correct.
    The factory had installed a jumper onto the drive which limited the speed to old SATA standards of 1.5MB/s. As soon as I removed the (unnecessary) jumper, the HDD was suddenly capable of 3.0MB/s and the issue was solved. I was ATAPI Compliant and things went as advertised.

    Final thoughts: Do NOT support manufacturers who do not support our attempts to get out from under the thumb of monopolies such as M$. The ONLY response I received from my MoBo mfgr was stated in 5 words: "We Do Not Support Linux".
    That manufacturer is ECS Elite Group.
    Last edited by 1fastbullet; 07-17-2008 at 05:21 AM. Reason: typo

  6. #5
    Just Joined! 1fastbullet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Montgomery, Texas, USA
    Posts
    38
    After posting the previous reply it dawned on me that 2 days ago I received shipment of a second Seagate 'cuda 250GB SATA hard drive, but I still had not yet opened the box. Now I have and, although I do not find the "jumpers not necessary" sticker on this 2nd HDD, there is a jumper installed, just as on the 1st one.
    Also, in very tiny print, beneath the hookup diagram, it illustrates the speed limiting jumper!
    I hope this solves your problem as it did mine

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •