Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
Hi everyone. I am in a little distress and need some help. I tried to install Debian yesterday and though it didn't give any errors my computer refused to boot. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Pondicherry, India.
    Posts
    18

    [SOLVED] Unable to boot


    Hi everyone.
    I am in a little distress and need some help.
    I tried to install Debian yesterday and though it didn't give any errors my computer refused to boot. I guessed it had something to do with grub not installed properly so I reinstalled Mint which I am quite familiar with, again no errors and still the computer doesn't boot. The message displayed is 'No bootable device found-- Please insert boot disk and press any key'.
    If anyone has any ideas about what the problem might be please help me. I don't want to use a live cd for too long. Thanks a lot.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Have you set Harddisk as First Boot Device in BIOS? Boot up from any LiveCD and execute fdisk -l command in Terminal. Post output here.
    Code:
    sudo fdisk -l
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Pondicherry, India.
    Posts
    18
    My first boot device is DVD drive. Should I change it to HD?
    The output of the command is this:
    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 1 9537 76605921 5 Extended
    /dev/sda2 9538 13362 30720000 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda3 13362 15912 20480000 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sda5 3652 7267 29045520 83 Linux
    /dev/sda6 * 7268 7880 4923891 83 Linux
    /dev/sda7 7881 7958 626503+ 82 Linux swap /solaris
    /dev/sda8 7959 9537 12683286 83 Linux
    /dev/sda9 1 3650 29318530+ 83 Linux

    Sorry for the mess, hope you can read.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Yes. Set First Boot Device to HD only.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Pondicherry, India.
    Posts
    18
    Sorry it did not work.What do i do now?
    do you think MBR might be damaged.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    do you think MBR might be damaged.
    It should have thrown boot loader error in that case. Try SuperGRUB CD. Boot up from it and select 'Fix Linux Boot Loader (GRUB)" option.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Pondicherry, India.
    Posts
    18
    I tried Super Grub. It returns the following error:
    File Not Found. Press any key to continue...
    By the way, I installed XP and it boots but I am still unable to install Linux or any other OS, including Vista. In the partitioning stage of the installation the partitioner does not detect the partition table and asks for a new partition table. Does this have anything to do with the problem I am facing?

  8. #8
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Thats weird. fdisk is recognizing Harddisk and partitions correctly. Execute sudo fdisk -l command in Terminal again and post output here.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Pondicherry, India.
    Posts
    18
    Well, I got the same output as before. I'll just try the installation again and let you know what happens. Hope it works this time. Thanks a lot for all the help.

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Pondicherry, India.
    Posts
    18
    Nope, I tried the installation and it detected the entire 160 gb as free space instead of the usual 140 gb. The partitions are detected by the live cd though. I am also able to mount and open them. Any ideas? I'm completely confused.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •