Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
the title says it all, whenever i try to install the video driver for my video card from the restricted drivers i get this error: The software source for the ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    13

    restricted drivers not installing


    the title says it all, whenever i try to install the video driver for my video card from the restricted drivers i get this error:

    The software source for the package

    xorg-driver-flgrx

    is not enabled.



    any help?..

  2. #2
    Linux Guru rokytnji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    3,858
    You can also install this package from Synaptic Package Manager (which I did.)
    Go to System > Administration > Restricted Drivers Manager and turn on the driver.
    Reboot
    Some users may receive an error screen: "The software source for the packsge nvidia-glx-new is not enabled." This can be overcome by going to System > Administration > Software Sources and ticking all the boxes under the heading "Downloadable from the Internet", click close and then allow Ubuntu to reload the package lists. The NVidia drivers can then be enabled using the method above.
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    13
    thank you for that, it helped me out alot, i got the driver downloaded and installed, but now i have come across yet another error, once it was done installing, i restarted like it wanted me to, and now whenever it gets done booting, the screen goes black, and it says its out of frequency, and i cant do anything except manually restart, usually that means its on a incorrect resolution, or refresh rate i believe, but its set to default like that, and i have no idea how i could change it when it wont let me do anything at all....

    is there anyway to fix this problem?...

  4. #4
    Linux User dxqcanada's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    259
    When you hit this road block ... can you get to the console (CTRL+ALT+F1) ?
    If so, you may try to build a new Xorg configuration then try to start X using the new config
    Code:
    # Xorg --configure
    # X -config /root/xorg.conf.new



    Men occasionally stumble over the truth,
    but most of them pick themselves up
    and hurry off as if nothing had happened.

    Winston Churchill


    ... then the Unix-Gods created "man" ...

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    13
    the most i can do with it is start it in recovery mode, that seems to work just fine, but if i try to start it normally, the loading bar gets done, then it just goes to a black screen and the monitor says it is out of frequency...

  6. #6
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Post the contents of /etc/X11/xorg.conf file here.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    13
    im a noob with ubuntu, im sorry, but, can i get to that through recovery mode?

    and would i just type that? (/etc/X11/xorg.conf) to get to it, or is there more?

    again, im sorry im a noob, i know windows like the back of my hand, but ubuntu is foreign to me...

  8. #8
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Execute this
    Code:
    cat /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    Or
    Replace cat with less. Post Monitor and Screen sections only.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    13
    yeah, i tryed to execute that, and it said it could not be found pretty much...i have no idea what to do

  10. #10
    Penguin of trust elija's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Either at home or at work or down the pub
    Posts
    3,309
    That file should be there...

    The X11 is Capital-X One One
    What do we want?
    Time machines!

    When do we want 'em?
    Doesn't really matter does it!?


    Conkybots: Interactive plugins for your Conkys!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •