Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
Hi, I'm having a problem getting my NIC to work in Ubuntu Hardy 8.04. I am very new to linux. In system > administration > network tools it is listed ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    5

    New to linux. Need help with NIC.


    Hi,

    I'm having a problem getting my NIC to work in Ubuntu Hardy 8.04. I am very new to linux. In system > administration > network tools it is listed as "unknown interface." The NIC works when I boot into Windows XP. It has not worked in Ubuntu since installation.

    Here is lshw -C network

    *-network UNCLAIMED
    description: Ethernet controller
    product: 82573L Gigabit Ethernet Controller
    vendor: Intel Corporation
    physical id: 0
    bus info: pci@0000:02:00.0
    version: 00
    width: 32 bits
    clock: 33MHz
    capabilities: pm msi pciexpress cap_list
    configuration: latency=0
    *-network
    description: Wireless interface
    product: PRO/Wireless 3945ABG Network Connection
    vendor: Intel Corporation
    physical id: 0
    bus info: pci@0000:03:00.0
    logical name: wmaster0
    version: 02
    serial: 00:13:02:31:19:ff
    width: 32 bits
    clock: 33MHz
    capabilities: pm msi pciexpress bus_master cap_list logical ethernet physical wireless
    configuration: broadcast=yes driver=iwl3945 ip=192.168.1.103 latency=0 module=iwl3945 multicast=yes wireless=IEEE 802.11g



    Here is ifconfig



    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:1761 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:1761 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:106944 (104.4 KB) TX bytes:106944 (104.4 KB)

    wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:13:02:31:19:ff
    inet addr:192.168.1.103 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::213:2ff:fe31:19ff/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:3419 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:3210 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:3359906 (3.2 MB) TX bytes:598033 (584.0 KB)

    wmaster0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-13-02-31-19-FF-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)


    Here is lsmod


    Module Size Used by
    ipv6 267780 10
    radeon 124192 0
    drm 82452 1 radeon
    rfcomm 41744 2
    l2cap 25728 13 rfcomm
    bluetooth 61156 4 rfcomm,l2cap
    uinput 10240 1
    ppdev 10372 0
    acpi_cpufreq 10796 1
    cpufreq_powersave 2688 0
    cpufreq_userspace 5284 0
    cpufreq_ondemand 9740 2
    cpufreq_stats 7104 0
    freq_table 5536 3 acpi_cpufreq,cpufreq_ondemand,cpufreq_stats
    cpufreq_conservative 8712 0
    bay 6912 0
    sbs 15112 0
    sbshc 7680 1 sbs
    dock 11280 1 bay
    container 5632 0
    iptable_filter 3840 0
    ip_tables 14820 1 iptable_filter
    x_tables 16132 1 ip_tables
    nls_iso8859_1 4992 1
    nls_cp437 6656 1
    vfat 14464 1
    fat 54556 1 vfat
    af_packet 23812 2
    parport_pc 36260 0
    lp 12324 0
    parport 37832 3 ppdev,parport_pc,lp
    arc4 2944 2
    ecb 4480 2
    blkcipher 8324 1 ecb
    joydev 13120 0
    pcmcia 40876 0
    snd_hda_intel 344728 3
    snd_pcm_oss 42144 0
    snd_mixer_oss 17920 1 snd_pcm_oss
    snd_pcm 78596 2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm_oss
    snd_page_alloc 11400 2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
    snd_hwdep 10500 1 snd_hda_intel
    snd_seq_dummy 4868 0
    snd_seq_oss 35584 0
    snd_seq_midi 9376 0
    snd_rawmidi 25760 1 snd_seq_midi
    battery 14212 0
    snd_seq_midi_event 8320 2 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi
    iwl3945 89844 0
    ac 6916 0
    snd_seq 54224 6 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_mid i_event
    snd_timer 24836 2 snd_pcm,snd_seq
    iwlwifi_mac80211 219108 1 iwl3945
    evdev 13056 9
    snd_seq_device 9612 5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_rawmidi ,snd_seq
    serio_raw 7940 0
    irtty_sir 9728 0
    video 19856 0
    output 4736 1 video
    cfg80211 15112 1 iwlwifi_mac80211
    e1000e 119336 0
    thinkpad_acpi 51836 0
    yenta_socket 27276 1
    rsrc_nonstatic 13696 1 yenta_socket
    pcmcia_core 40596 3 pcmcia,yenta_socket,rsrc_nonstatic
    snd 56996 17 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_pcm,sn d_hwdep,snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_rawmidi,snd_ seq,snd_timer,snd_seq_device
    psmouse 40336 0
    button 9232 0
    nvram 9992 2 thinkpad_acpi
    sir_dev 17412 1 irtty_sir
    nsc_ircc 24208 0
    irda 203068 3 irtty_sir,sir_dev,nsc_ircc
    crc_ccitt 3072 1 irda
    soundcore 8800 1 snd
    intel_agp 25492 0
    iTCO_wdt 13092 0
    iTCO_vendor_support 4868 1 iTCO_wdt
    shpchp 34452 0
    pci_hotplug 30880 1 shpchp
    agpgart 34760 2 drm,intel_agp
    pcspkr 4224 0
    ext3 136712 1
    jbd 48404 1 ext3
    mbcache 9600 1 ext3
    sg 36880 0
    sr_mod 17956 0
    cdrom 37408 1 sr_mod
    sd_mod 30720 4
    ata_generic 8324 0
    pata_acpi 8320 0
    ata_piix 19588 3
    ehci_hcd 37900 0
    libata 159344 3 ata_generic,pata_acpi,ata_piix
    scsi_mod 151436 4 sg,sr_mod,sd_mod,libata
    uhci_hcd 27024 0
    usbcore 146028 3 ehci_hcd,uhci_hcd
    e1000 126016 0
    thermal 16796 0
    processor 36872 4 acpi_cpufreq,thermal
    fan 5636 0
    fbcon 42912 0
    tileblit 3456 1 fbcon
    font 9472 1 fbcon
    bitblit 6784 1 fbcon
    softcursor 3072 1 bitblit
    fuse 50580 3

    This is an Intel 82573L Gigabit ethernet controller in a Lenovo Thinkpad T60. I am, thus far, unable to get any advice on this so any help would be GREATLY appreciated. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    5
    Can anyone shed any light on why I cannot get any help with this? Is this such a strange problem? Have I not included enough information to get an educated opinion? What gives?

  3. #3
    Linux Guru rokytnji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Desert
    Posts
    4,120
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way. I Have a Masters in Raising Hell
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home

  4. #4
    Linux Guru rokytnji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Desert
    Posts
    4,120
    Here are the Linux Drivers from Intel for your card.Be sure to read and get the READ ME TXT along with the driver.

    Download Search Results
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way. I Have a Masters in Raising Hell
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home

  5. #5
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    682
    It looks like you've got two network cards there, and the wireless one looks ok (at least as far as I can see).

    Which one are you trying to make work? And what error do you get when you try this

    Code:
    ping www.google.com
    Let us know how you get on,

    Chris...
    To be good, you must first be bad. "Newbie" is a rank, not a slight.

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    5
    thinkpads.com Support Community :: View Forum - Linux Questions
    T60 Atheros vs. Intel? - Ubuntu Forums
    https://twiki.cern.ch/twiki/bin/view...Support/IbmT60

    Read the NOTE on the 3rd link about downloading Madwifidrivers for your wireless card.
    It is actually my hardwired NIC that is not working correctly.

    Here are the Linux Drivers from Intel for your card.Be sure to read and get the READ ME TXT along with the driver.

    Download Search Results
    I found this and installed it before posting. I believe it is e1000e which is listed in my lsmod. I think that means it is installed, so i have e1000 and e1000e installed with my NIC still not working. Could I have installed it wrong perhaps?

    It looks like you've got two network cards there, and the wireless one looks ok (at least as far as I can see).

    Which one are you trying to make work? And what error do you get when you try this


    Code:
    ping www.google.comLet us know how you get on,

    Chris...
    My wireless card works great. It is my hardwired NIC that doesn't work. If I turn off wireless and plug straight into an internet connection (i've tried a couple of different locations) I cannot ping google. So I can connect wirelessly, it is just bugging me that my regular NIC isn't working.

    Thanks for the replies and sorry for my ignorance. This seems like such an easy problem. You guys' help is really appreciated.

  7. #7
    Linux Guru rokytnji's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Desert
    Posts
    4,120
    Try going to Network Manager. Its the icon that looks like 2 doubled up moniters in the top right of taskbar next to speaker icon. Left click it and Look to see if wired connection is clicked.
    Linux Registered User # 475019
    Lead,Follow, or get the heck out of the way. I Have a Masters in Raising Hell
    Tech Books
    Free Linux Books
    Newbie Guide
    Courses at Home

  8. #8
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    682
    What do you get if you run

    Code:
    ifconfig -a
    This will do the same thing as ifconfig except it will also display unconfigured network cards. If the hardwired NIC is recognised by the kernel then I expect it will appear as eth0.

    Once we know that part is working you should be able to hook it up and get it working in short order. As root:

    Code:
    ifconfig wlan0 down
    dhclient eth0
    If that doesn't get things working then post the output of

    Code:
    ifconfig -a
    route -n
    ping www.google.com
    The settings and errors given out by these commands should let us know where it is going wrong.

    Let us know how you get on,

    Chris...
    To be good, you must first be bad. "Newbie" is a rank, not a slight.

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    5
    Try going to Network Manager. Its the icon that looks like 2 doubled up moniters in the top right of taskbar next to speaker icon. Left click it and Look to see if wired connection is clicked.
    Network Manager > Manual Configuration > Connections Tab I have "Wireless Connection" and "Point to Point Connection."

    Here's ifconfig -a

    irda0 Link encap:IrLAP HWaddr 00:00:00:00
    NOARP MTU:2048 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:8
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:1549 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:1549 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:80041 (78.1 KB) TX bytes:80041 (78.1 KB)

    wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:13:02:31:19:ff
    inet addr:192.168.1.103 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    inet6 addr: fe80::213:2ff:fe31:19ff/64 Scope:Link
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:1735 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:1776 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:1226274 (1.1 MB) TX bytes:354496 (346.1 KB)

    wmaster0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-13-02-31-19-FF-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

    I don't see eth0. Not recognized by the kernel? The funny thing is, in lshw it displays the model name and number.

  10. #10
    Linux Enthusiast
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    682
    A little bit of google-fu suggests that your network card should be supported by the e1000 module.

    Can I get you to run these commands as root

    Code:
    dmesg
    modprobe -r e1000
    modprobe e1000
    dmesg
    Make a note of the last line in the first dmesg. The modprobe commands shouldn't give any output. Then post the extra lines from dmesg after the modprobe commands.

    The second dmesg should include some information about unloading and reloading the e1000 module and any hardware it was able to find. Hopefully it will also tell us why it isn't finding your network card.

    If it looks like it did find your network card then check ifconfig -a again to see if it shows up.

    Let us know how you get on,

    Chris...
    To be good, you must first be bad. "Newbie" is a rank, not a slight.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •