Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
I installed Ubuntu 8.04 as a dual boot system with Windows. I can still access the internet when booted into Windows using IE or Firefox. I cannot access the internet ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    17

    Question Ubuntu 8.04 Internet Connectivity


    I installed Ubuntu 8.04 as a dual boot system with Windows. I can still access the internet when booted into Windows using IE or Firefox. I cannot access the internet when using Ubuntu and Firefox.

    The PC being used is a Dell Desktop 8100 that is wirelessly connected to my home wireless network. Clearly, because the Windows/Firefox internet connection works, the wireless network is up and running. I'm probably missing some setting in either Ubuntu or Firefox under Ubuntu.

    I'm looking for next steps short of uninstalling and reinstalling Ubuntu. Advise, thoughts, ideas, and prayers appreciated.

    deblo

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie Geeth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Brisbane Aus
    Posts
    176
    It sounds like the wireless isn't configured in Ubuntu.

    Post the output of

    Code:
    ifconfig

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    17
    Geeth

    I'm so new to Ubuntu that I don't know where to find the command prompt. Looking under System/Preferences and System/Administration, not sure where to go to find output of 'ifconfig'

  4. #4
    Just Joined! mlhazan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    53
    go Applications->Accessories->Terminal from the panel.on the terminal type whatever you want.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    17
    eth0 Link encap:Ehternet HWaddr 00:b0:d0:06ca2:61
    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0,0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
    Interrupt: 11 Base address:0xa800

    eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:17:3f:ff:36:f5
    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:356 dropped:1 overruns:0 frame:535
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UPLOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets: 1316 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets: 1316 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:65800 (64.2 KB) TX bytes:65800 (64.2 KB)

  6. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    17
    Quote Originally Posted by Deblo View Post
    Geeth

    I'm so new to Ubuntu that I don't know where to find the command prompt. Looking under System/Preferences and System/Administration, not sure where to go to find output of 'ifconfig'
    eth0 Link encap:Ehternet HWaddr 00:b0:d0:06ca2:61
    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0,0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
    Interrupt: 11 Base address:0xa800

    eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:17:3f:ff:36:f5
    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:356 dropped:1 overruns:0 frame:535
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UPLOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets: 1316 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets: 1316 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:65800 (64.2 KB) TX bytes:65800 (64.2 KB)

  7. #7
    Linux Guru coopstah13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    3,149
    none of those are wireless connections, if you can plug it into the wired network, the easiest way to enable your wireless would be to go to system->administration->hardware drivers and click the box to enable your wireless card (provided it was detected), otherwise post the ouput of this command
    Code:
    lspci

  8. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    17

    lspci output- As requested

    00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82850 850 (Tehama) Chipset Host Bridge (MCM) (rev 02)
    00:01.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82850 850 (Tehama) Chipset AGP Bridge (rev 02)
    00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 PCI Bridge (rev 04)
    00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801BA ISA Bridge (LPC) (rev04)
    00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801BA IDE U100 Controller (rev 04)
    00:1f.2 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801BA/BAM USB Controller #1 (rev 04)
    00:1f.3 SMBus: Intel Corporation82801BA/BAM SMBus Controller (rev 04)
    00:1f.4 USB Controller: Intel Corporation 82801BA/BAM USB Controller #1 (rev 04)
    01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV15 [GEForce2 GTS/Pro] (rev04)
    02:07.0 USB Controller: NEC Corporation USB (rev 43)
    02:07.1 USB Controller: NEC Corporation USB (rev 43)
    02:07.2 USB Controller: NEC Corporation USB 2.0 (rev 04)
    02:08.0 Multimedia video controller: Brooktree Corporation Bt878 Video Capture (rev 11)
    02:08.1 Multimedia controller: Brooktree Corporation Bt878 Ausio Capture (rev11)
    02:0a.0 Multimedia audio controller: Creative Labs SB Live! EMU10k1 (rev 0
    02:0a.1 Input device controller: Creative Labs SB Live! Game Port (rev 0
    02:0b.0 Communications controller: Conexant HCF 56k Data/Fax/Voice/Spkp Modem (rev 0
    02:0c.0 Ethernet controller: 3Com Corporation 3c905C-TX-M [Tornado] (rev 7
    dennis@desktop:~$

  9. #9
    Linux Guru coopstah13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    NH, USA
    Posts
    3,149
    I don't see a wireless card on the list, so I'm going to assume that its a USB card? if this is the case, we need to see the command
    Code:
    lsusb
    if that is not the case, something is wrong for it to not be able to detect the card

  10. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    17

    Info per Request

    Bus 005 Device 004: ID 04c1:009d U.S. Robotics (3Com) HomeConnect WebCam [vicam]
    Bus 005 Device 003: ID 03f0:2911 Hewlwtt-Packard
    Bus 005 Device 002: ID 0451:2077 Texas Instruments, Inc. TUSB2077 Hub
    Bus 005 Device 001: ID 0000:0000
    Bus 004 Device 001: ID 0000:0000
    Bus 003 Device 001: ID 0000:0000
    Bus 002 Device 003: ID 0d49:7110 Maxtor
    Bus 002 Device 002: ID 050d:705c Belkin Components
    Bus 002 Device 001: ID 0000:0000
    Bus 001 Device 001: ID 0000:0000
    dennis@delldesktop


    .................................................. ...................
    I'm think the BUS 002 Device 002 - Belkin Components is the USB wireless connection

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •