Find the answer to your Linux question:
hello, i'm new to linux so i dont really know alot about, i tried installing linux today and when i started the installation it started loading then i got this ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Smile problems during installation

hello, i'm new to linux so i dont really know alot about, i tried installing linux today and when i started the installation it started loading then i got this on my screen:

can anyone please help with this? because I really dont know what to do from here. and i want linux on my pc because im getting tired of windows >.<
    and from what i've heard linux is way better so

Couple things to try:

1. Reburn the cd (what version of Ubuntu are you trying, Hardy Heron (8.04)?
    2. If reburn doesn't work, try older version of Ubuntu (Gutsy 7.10)
    3. Wait until Thursday when Intrepid is released (8.10) and then try again
    4. Try alternative installation (this is a non live distro -- ie you cannot use Ubuntu from the cd, it's just a regular install like a windows cd would do). You can find this on Ubuntu's page if you search for alternative cd I believe

Hope one of these help
    Bodhi 1.3 & Bodhi 1.4 using E17
    Dell Studio 17, Intel Graphics card, 4 gigs of RAM, E17

"The beauty in life can only be found by moving past the materialism which defines human nature and into the higher realm of thought and knowledge"

Just Joined!
    well I'm using the 8.04 version yes, i will try to reburn the cd as you said.
    I let him test the cd for errors in the ubuntu menu and it said 24 files were corrupt/broken, so it might be my cd.

any way I hope I dont need to download it again because then I would have to wait until saturday because I am on smallband atm (belgian internet..).

thx for the help so far and I will try these things out.

i'll let you know when it works.

grtz

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close