Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
I set up some virtual machine with ubuntu-6.06.1-server guest operating system. Network adapter is set up to bridged network connection. When I type ifconfig to the command line, all I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Nis, Serbia
    Posts
    11

    Problems with networking


    I set up some virtual machine with ubuntu-6.06.1-server guest operating system. Network adapter is set up to bridged network connection. When I type ifconfig to the command line, all I get is parameters for local host. My /etc/network/interfaces file looks like this:

    Code:
    #This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
    #and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces (5).
    
    #The loopback network interface
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
    
    #The primary network interface
    auto eth0
    iface eth0 inet dhcp
    So, it looks just I think it should. But still, there is no parameters for eth0 after ifconfig command, and if I try to restart network with /etc/init.d/networking restart I got:

    Code:
    * Reconfiguring network interfaces...
    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.0.3
    Copyright 2004-2005 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit http://www.isc.org/products/DHCP
    
    SIOCSIFADDR: No such device
    eth0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    eth0: ERROR while getting interface flags: No such device
    Bind socket to interface: No such device
    Failed to bring up eth0.
    So, why is my network adapter out of scope? I'm really new to linux, so any opinion and solution will be helpful.

    P.S. I hope you understood me as my english is not so good.

  2. #2
    Just Joined! vitorgatti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    30
    I think you should try a newer version of Ubuntu. This is kinda outdated.
    Try Ubuntu 8.04 Server or Ubuntu 8.10. I'm sure it will be a lot easier!

    But, just if you wanna continue with Ubuntu 6.06.1, execute the command: lspci and see if it shows an Ethernet Adaptor.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Nis, Serbia
    Posts
    11
    Well, I do not mind for version becouse I use this ubuntu just for testing purpose.

    lspci shows Ethernet controller (same thing i think)

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Just Joined! vitorgatti's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    30
    What program are you using to create your virtual machine?
    Try VirtualBox

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Nis, Serbia
    Posts
    11
    I am using VMware web interface. But, this one I downloaded from internet.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •