Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 7 of 7
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1

    CPU error with Ubuntu in Virtual PC


    I am trying to install Ubuntu 8.04 on Virtual PC 2004. I've read that people get graphics problems when attempting this. Well, I'm different. It doesn't boot at all. It starts to install and then I get a processor error. Thats all it tells me. Help.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Linux User martinfromdublin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Dublin, Rep. of Ireland
    Posts
    448
    Is your CPU maxing out? Please post specs of your PC/Laptop and bear in mind virtual pcs can put a heavy drain on the CPU, depending on what the host systems requirements are.
    LINUX: Where do you want to go.......Tomorrow!

    Registered Linux user 396633

  3. #3
    I'm actually trying this on two different pcs. Heres the specs on both.

    PC #1:

    Dell Optiplex (something??)
    2GHz Pentium 4
    1GB Ram
    Host OS: Windows XP Pro
    Virtual PC 2004 (I have gotten Damn Small Linux to boot, but only to the terminal. No GUI.)

    PC #2:

    Dell Inspiron E1505
    1.73GHz Core 2 Duo
    2GB Ram
    Host OS: Windows Vista Home Premium (I'm aware that Virtual PC is not compatible with home OSs, but I run Windows NT 4 and Damn Small Linux (with GUI) on it fine.)
    Virtual PC 2007

    The error messege that I get is:

    "An unrecoverable processor error has been encountered. The virtual pc will reset now."

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux User dxqcanada's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    259
    Are you using the 32 or 64bit version of Virtual PC 2007 on your Vista Core 2 Duo machine ?



    Men occasionally stumble over the truth,
    but most of them pick themselves up
    and hurry off as if nothing had happened.

    Winston Churchill


    ... then the Unix-Gods created "man" ...

  6. #5
    both virtual pc and the cpu are 32 bit

  7. #6
    Linux User dxqcanada's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    259
    Do you mean that you have the 32bit version of Windows Vista Home Premium installed ?



    Men occasionally stumble over the truth,
    but most of them pick themselves up
    and hurry off as if nothing had happened.

    Winston Churchill


    ... then the Unix-Gods created "man" ...

  8. #7
    Linux User martinfromdublin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Dublin, Rep. of Ireland
    Posts
    448
    Try using Innotek VirtualBox for Windows instead of Microsoft's Virtual PC and you 'll have a better chance of sucess. As for the Vista machine, your chances are not good as at only1.7 Ghz of processer there's not much left over after Vista has drawn down what it needs.
    LINUX: Where do you want to go.......Tomorrow!

    Registered Linux user 396633

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •