Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22
Looks fine....
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Guru D-cat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Bounce between Dover, NH - Shapleigh, ME
    Posts
    1,638

    Looks fine.

  2. #12
    Linux User TaZMAniac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    269
    Install Vista using the whole hard drive.
    After Vista is installed follow the instructions from the link I posted.
    The tutorial was used by a newbie Linux user today while I watched just in case there were any problems with the tutorial.

    No problems at all and it worked very well.
    Shrinking the hard drive from within Vista assures no Vista files were left behind even though I never encountered this problem.

  3. #13
    Linux Guru D-cat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Bounce between Dover, NH - Shapleigh, ME
    Posts
    1,638
    While it may work, I have never until now ever met anyone who'd recommend editing a partition that is not only mounted but you have booted off of in a graphical OS. Plus, shrinking requires the re-organization of data structures that would not need to be done if the partition was made half size to begin with, this is time wasted IMO.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #14
    Just Joined! Norotso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    17
    Quote Originally Posted by Norotso View Post
    So this is how its going to work:

    Boot from Vista DVD
    Partition HDD into 2x 250gb drives
    install Vista, updates, drivers etc.
    boot from Ubuntu CD and follow install instructions

    Keep in mind this is a new system with clean HDD's
    So I have my Vista up and running with two partitions. Do I need to format the one partition through Vista or from Ubuntu disk?

  6. #15
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,741
    You have to delete one or shrink existing and create new partition for Ubuntu. I would suggest you to shrink partitions.
    Lets check partition structure of your Hard disk first.
    Boot up from Ubuntu LiveCD, open Terminal and execute this
    Code:
    sudo fdisk -l
    Post output here.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  7. #16
    Linux Guru D-cat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Bounce between Dover, NH - Shapleigh, ME
    Posts
    1,638
    You mean you made 2 NTFS partitions, like a C: and a D:? Oops, not quite what I meant. Make sure D: is empty, then delete it (within Vista) and leave the remaining space free; do not expand the C: partition (though I'm fairly sure Windows will insist you should, don't).

    When you reboot into the Ubuntu Install, you can just follow instructions. It should automatically use the free space and format it to ext3 (linux format).

  8. #17
    Just Joined! Norotso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    17
    Yes I made two partitions. One is formated and Vista is running on it, Drive C, there is a drive D but it hasn't been formated.

  9. #18
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,741
    Boot up from Ubuntu LiveCD and open GParted Partition Manager. Create two new partitions.

    ext3 - 10-15GB for /
    SWAP - 512MB

    Start Ubuntu installation, select Manual Partitioning and assign / mount point to ext3 partition. Installer will detect SWAP and Windows OS. Installer will setup dual boot itself.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  10. #19
    Just Joined! Norotso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    17
    Quote Originally Posted by devils casper View Post
    Boot up from Ubuntu LiveCD and open GParted Partition Manager. Create two new partitions.

    ext3 - 10-15GB for /
    SWAP - 512MB

    Start Ubuntu installation, select Manual Partitioning and assign / mount point to ext3 partition. Installer will detect SWAP and Windows OS. Installer will setup dual boot itself.
    For some reason I can't boot from the CD. I've even changed the start up in the BIOS. ???

  11. #20
    Linux Guru D-cat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Bounce between Dover, NH - Shapleigh, ME
    Posts
    1,638
    See if it burned right. Open the CD in Windows, what do you have for files?

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •