Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
I have an SLI rig. A lot of 3-D games do not want to run correctly (i.e. Urban Terror everything runs even sound and menus. But, I get no video ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    42

    Angry Ubuntu 8.04 and games


    I have an SLI rig. A lot of 3-D games do not want to run correctly (i.e. Urban Terror everything runs even sound and menus. But, I get no video and it is not switching video ports. I get the message "out of range" from my monitor.) With Neverputt and Neverball only half of the screen when in fullscreen mode. The other half is plain solid black. Somebody help me!? I have 2 XFX 7600gt's and I am running GLX driver version 1.0-9755.

  2. #2
    Just Joined! Shugotenshi_X's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    18
    I'm no expert, but I had the same problem with two computers recently. Post your xorg.conf file for starters. Even if I can't help you out, anyone else will find it usefull.

    See if this helps:

    http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/ubu...een-black.html
    Last edited by Shugotenshi_X; 02-14-2009 at 06:33 AM. Reason: Added link

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    42
    Quote Originally Posted by Shugotenshi_X View Post
    I'm no expert, but I had the same problem with two computers recently. Post your xorg.conf file for starters. Even if I can't help you out, anyone else will find it usefull.

    See if this helps:

    http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/ubu...een-black.html
    Here is my xorg.conf

    # nvidia-xconfig: X configuration file generated by nvidia-xconfig
    # nvidia-xconfig: version 1.0 (buildmeister@builder3) Thu Feb 14 18:20:37 PST 2008

    # nvidia-settings: X configuration file generated by nvidia-settings
    # nvidia-settings: version 1.0 (buildd@vernadsky) Thu Jun 5 09:26:53 UTC 2008

    Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "Layout0"
    Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
    InputDevice "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    EndSection

    Section "Files"
    RgbPath "/usr/X11R6/lib/X11/rgb"
    EndSection

    Section "Module"
    Load "dbe"
    Load "extmod"
    Load "type1"
    Load "freetype"
    Load "glx"
    EndSection

    Section "ServerFlags"
    Option "Xinerama" "0"
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"

    # generated from default
    Identifier "Mouse0"
    Driver "mouse"
    Option "Protocol" "auto"
    Option "Device" "/dev/psaux"
    Option "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    Option "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"

    # generated from default
    Identifier "Keyboard0"
    Driver "kbd"
    EndSection

    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "Monitor0"
    VendorName "Unknown"
    ModelName "Chuntex X782"
    HorizSync 30.0 - 80.0
    VertRefresh 56.0 - 75.0
    Option "DPMS"
    EndSection

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "Device0"
    Driver "nvidia"
    VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
    EndSection

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "Videocard0"
    Driver "nvidia"
    VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
    BoardName "GeForce 7600 GT"
    EndSection

    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen0"
    Device "Videocard0"
    Monitor "Monitor0"
    DefaultDepth 24
    Option "TwinView" "0"
    Option "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder" "CRT-0"
    Option "metamodes" "1280x1024_75 +0+0; nvidia-auto-select +0+0"
    Option "SLI" "AA"
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 24
    EndSubSection
    EndSection

  4. #4
    Just Joined! Shugotenshi_X's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Washington
    Posts
    18
    Well, you could TRY what I had to do with mine, but be sure to backup your xorg.conf file first. Change Driver "nvidia" to Driver "vesa" in both "Device" sections. Restart the xserver and give'er a go.

    I'm kinda shootin' in the dark here, so if it doesn't do the trick for ya, restore your file from the backup and no harm done. If you need any help with that let me know and I'll walk you through it. I believe there's a utility out there made to make configuring NVidia cards easier, but I don't remember the name. If someone else out there has a better way of doing this, please chime in!

  5. #5
    Linux Engineer scrarfussi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    1,029
    what monitor are you using and whats the max resolution it can handle i get that error on some of the older lcd monitors

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •