Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am a total newbie to linux...I have installed ubuntu and now it took me to grub..now what do I do...I am duo booted with xp pro and my disk ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Wink I am a newbie

I am a total newbie to linux...I have installed ubuntu and now it took me to grub..now what do I do...I am duo booted with xp pro and my disk if formatted to fat32..what do type at the "grub"
    Kas
    Ps I have spent my entire life with windows so be kind and gentle with me..go slow I am also a senior

Ummm, getting the grub prompt is not a good thing, you're supposed to get a menu so you can choose if you want to boot Windows or Ubuntu.

I'm not very handy with Grub in a text interface, see the following post, might be able to help.

http://www.linuxforums.org/forum/ubu...tml#post667850

Just Joined!
    I did get a menu during boot and it kicked me into grub and now grub wants me to do something..if this gets to complicated I may have try a simpler linux prog

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    Okay, what menu items have you tried? Does this happen no matter what option you choose? Is there a message that accompanies the drop to the grub prompt?

Like I said, this is just odd, it isn't supposed to happen this way. It means something didn't install right.

Just Joined!
    when it goes into grub it gives about 30 commands when you hit tab, i tried some of them and i get some error message..some of cmds are fstest, erial setkey geometry halt help and so forth..it is almost like dos..very comfuseing

Right, I'm talking while the menu is still up, before the drop to the grub prompt.

Just Joined!
    Download iso supergrub Super Grub Disk Webpage: Download
    burn it and boot with it select linux.
    It wil let you see the ubuntu grub and select uption repair.
    this has workt for me in the most cases.
    Have fun