Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
total newbie to linux. Install on Dell desktop, screwed up partition on install, Ubuntu took over complete hard drive. Problem is Ubuntu won't boot, can get to login and password ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

help with boot

total newbie to linux. Install on Dell desktop, screwed up partition on install, Ubuntu took over complete hard drive. Problem is Ubuntu won't boot, can get to login and password which was setup on install. Then get tan screen of death. Have restarted in recovery mode got to root and grub menus, but no go. Burned Supergrub cd and tried it but still no help. thanks.

Hi and Welcome !

Press Alt+Ctrl+F1 at Login Screen. Does it drop you at command line login prompt? If yes, then execute this
    Code:
    sudo lspci | grep -i vga
    grep -i driver /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    Post output here.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Just Joined!
    when hit key combination went to biggputer, name of desktop, login,entered code referenced above, hit enter, asked for login, entered login hit enter then asked for password but would not accept password. cursur appears frozen after asking for password. I'm booting from recovery mode. is there any way I can defrag system , have stopped and restarted system so many times I think its clogged with junk. tried to "clean" from recovery menu but that's almost instantaneous. tried to repair broken packages from recovery mode get message need to install 4 packages and upgrade 249 packages. if all else fails can I uninstall ububtu from root or grub command line and start over?
    login timed out after 60 seconds, currently computer locked, cursur blinking, and keyboard caplock and scroll lock blinking.
    last line before blinking cursur
    [ 579.828049] --- [ end of trace fb47afc304cb2a1b ]