Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
I can start virtual box fine created a winxp machine go to start it so i can load hte os and get a pop up screen telling me to run ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    178

    ubuntu: viurtual box loads but gives error


    I can start virtual box fine created a winxp machine go to start it so i can load hte os and get a pop up screen telling me to run
    /etc/init.d/vboxdrv setup

    So I do and i get the following:

    root@cj454-lt:/boot/grub# /etc/init.d/vboxdrv setup
    * Usage: /etc/init.d/vboxdrv {start|stop|restart|status}
    root@cj454-lt:/boot/grub# /etc/init.d/vboxdrv start
    * Starting VirtualBox kernel module vboxdrv
    * No suitable module for running kernel found.
    root@cj454-lt:/boot/grub# /etc/init.d/vboxdrv setup
    * Usage: /etc/init.d/vboxdrv {start|stop|restart|status}
    root@cj454-lt:/boot/grub# /etc/init.d/vboxdrv status
    * VirtualBox kernel module is not loaded.

    It also tells me to load the DKMS module. well I looked in the add remove programs and there is no such file...

  2. #2
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Have you added yourself to the "vboxusers" group? How did you initially install Virtualbox? Did you pull it off the repositories or the website?
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  3. #3
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    178
    Quote Originally Posted by techieMoe View Post
    Have you added yourself to the "vboxusers" group? How did you initially install Virtualbox? Did you pull it off the repositories or the website?
    I found this on the www

    Dell - Dell Linux - Projects

    I installed it using the add remove programs under applications

  4. #4
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    178
    i removed and installed that code but i get the same error as before.

    i guess its back to google

  5. #5
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    178
    i may have figured this out....

    found this and it seems to be working

    "VirtualBox kernel driver not installed" error after Hardy upgrade - Page 8 - Ubuntu Forums

  6. #6
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    178
    ah never mind i was using the wrong device. have way to many computer on my desk... LOL

  7. #7
    Linux Guru techieMoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    9,496
    Try removing the version from the repositories and downloading it from Virtualbox.org instead. There's a DEB file for it I believe.
    Registered Linux user #270181
    TechieMoe's Tech Rants

  8. #8
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    178
    no i have a new problem the mouse does not seem to capture. I says it capturing it but never does. something must be off

  9. #9
    Linux Guru D-cat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Bounce between Dover, NH - Shapleigh, ME
    Posts
    1,638
    Does it still work? Are the v-box client tools installed? If so, the behavior is normal.

  10. #10
    Linux Newbie
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    178
    I got the VB working. thanx.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •