Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 17 of 17
i ran the command "sudo dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg" and i think it changed it, but now the xorg.conf seems a lot smaller... see for yourself: # xorg.conf (X.Org X Window ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    26

    i ran the command "sudo dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg" and i think it changed it, but now the xorg.conf seems a lot smaller... see for yourself:


    # xorg.conf (X.Org X Window System server configuration file)
    #
    # This file was generated by dexconf, the Debian X Configuration tool, using
    # values from the debconf database.
    #
    # Edit this file with caution, and see the xorg.conf manual page.
    # (Type "man xorg.conf" at the shell prompt.)
    #
    # This file is automatically updated on xserver-xorg package upgrades *only*
    # if it has not been modified since the last upgrade of the xserver-xorg
    # package.
    #
    # If you have edited this file but would like it to be automatically updated
    # again, run the following command:
    # sudo dpkg-reconfigure -phigh xserver-xorg

    Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Generic Keyboard"
    Driver "kbd"
    Option "XkbRules" "xorg"
    Option "XkbModel" "pc105"
    Option "XkbLayout" "us"
    EndSection

    Section "InputDevice"
    Identifier "Configured Mouse"
    Driver "mouse"
    Option "CorePointer"
    Option "Emulate3Buttons" "true"
    EndSection

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "Configured Video Device"
    EndSection

    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "Configured Monitor"
    EndSection

    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Default Screen"
    Monitor "Configured Monitor"
    Device "Configured Video Device"
    EndSection

    Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier "Default Layout"
    Screen "Default Screen"
    EndSection

  2. #12
    Linux Guru D-cat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Bounce between Dover, NH - Shapleigh, ME
    Posts
    1,638
    Back to generic config? How does the desktop perform after you restart X? Do you have the nVidia driver available in the restricted hardware drivers panel?

    I expected it to be smaller, but this is too much so. I have to do some research. Restart X and let me know what happens.

    Edit: I just looked up the xorg.conf on an Xubuntu computer here with an nVidia card, even generitized (if that's a word), Section "Device" looked like this:
    Code:
    Section "Device"
            Identifier      "Configured Video Device"
            Driver          "nvidia"
            Option          "NoLogo"        "True"
            Option          "UseEdidFreqs"  "True"
            Option          "AllowGLXWithComposite" "True"
    EndSection

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    26
    i do not see "restricted hardware drivers" only "hardware drivers"

    i am looking in system/administration

    did i lose them somehow?

  4. #14
    Linux Guru D-cat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Bounce between Dover, NH - Shapleigh, ME
    Posts
    1,638
    Well, yeah, it just says Hardware Drivers, sorry. I have a clarity issue, but I try anyway.

  5. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    26
    hey i restarted and it seems to be fixed! thanks for your help. i am not 100% clear on what happened, but when i restarted, I looked in hardware drivers and my nvidia accelerated graphics driver was not enabled. so i enabled it once again and restarted again and everything seems great. thanks so much!

    now, what if i reinstall my nvidia geforce 8300 gs? will it work? will you still be there for me if it doesn't?

  6. #16
    Linux Guru D-cat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Bounce between Dover, NH - Shapleigh, ME
    Posts
    1,638
    Hey, I'm glad it's all working now! Really, I am (sigh of relief!).

    After installing a new card, you'll have to do the same steps as you did above after you removed it, but yes, it should work.

    As far as being here, if not I, I'm sure there's plenty of people here to help you out. That's why this place exists!

  7. #17
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    26
    well i put in the new card and everything worked just fine from the get go. you can call this one solved, i think... thanks again for your help.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •