Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 17 of 17
I just checked my wine directory, and my programs are installed under folder Program Files with no references under system 32. Did you try to install direct to Windows folder?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Big River, Sask, Canada
    Posts
    342

    I just checked my wine directory, and my programs are installed under folder Program Files with no references under system 32. Did you try to install direct to Windows folder?
    Registered Linux User #420832

  2. #12
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    64
    Quote Originally Posted by Hal343 View Post
    I just checked my wine directory, and my programs are installed under folder Program Files with no references under system 32. Did you try to install direct to Windows folder?
    I downloaded the the photoshop demo to the desktop, right clicked on the file and chose "open with wine windows program loader" It is kind of pissing me off because I only really like three programs that they don't make for linux; Photoshop, Modo and Autocad.
    Gimp sux, Blender sux and none of the cadd software for linux is half as good as Autocad.
    I have tried several tutorials on how to make them work in wine and NONE of them work for me.

  3. #13
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Big River, Sask, Canada
    Posts
    342
    Sorry I can't help you, I just use wine for a couple of games. I tried to install Quicktax. but couldn't get it to run either.
    Registered Linux User #420832

  4. #14
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    64
    I am trying to get it to work right but the wine window doesn't even come up now.
    Right now, I am trying to install some really simple windows aps but that's not working either.
    It would be nice if linux had a good community so I could get my tiny little problems fixed and get on with my life. Instead, I get people who reply and just point to a link and then NEVER come back to see if it worked.

  5. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    1

    same problem

    Hi

    I got same problem.
    Trying to build rendering farm for modo 3.02

    My only window§ PC is the master PC in farm.
    All the others will be linux client nodes.



    I found somethin intresting in WineHQ website.
    Try to find modo 302 there. I'am so new user here in
    thes site, that i cannot add the link here.

    Anyway it's in the path:

    Category: Main > Multimedia > Graphics > Animation/Rendering/3D > Modo




    Ubuntu Hadry aka 8.04 (or 8.04 aka Hardy) + wine 1.0.0


    Now i'am downloadin ubuntu 8.04 cd image.
    I have done quite many times own compiled wine - so then
    i need to download wine 1.0.0 sourcecode + put the
    compiler running.

    If you want to compile own version wine just google:
    "compile wine ubuntu" 4xsample



    I'll tell you soon how dows it work.

    Aake

  6. #16
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    64
    Well, I am going to just go ahead and make a 10 gig partition for windows and install XP. If that doesn't work.....

  7. #17
    Linux User kmitnick's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Jordan - Amman
    Posts
    329
    wine cannot run everything and if it is does it won't be in high quality so I suggest to dual boot if you really need it to be run or use another computer

    btw to see if the win32 app can be used across Wine use this AppDB

    WineHQ - Wine Application Database
    Dual Booting Ubuntu 10.04, Windows 7

    Toshiba Satellite A200-1M5, Duo Core 2.0 Ghz, 1 Gigs RAM, 256 Intel Card

    You are registered Linux user number 490788
    Happy Linuxing

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •