Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
I have an internal TB drive with all of my music on it. Everytime I open Amarok my music is nowhere to be found. However, for some reason, when I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    16

    hard drive always dismounts


    I have an internal TB drive with all of my music on it. Everytime I open Amarok my music is nowhere to be found. However, for some reason, when I open the TB drive listed in the Places menu it is recognized by Amarok. This leads me to believe that I have to mount it permanently for Amarok. How do I do this? The TB drive is a separate drive from the one my OS is on. It is formated NTSF so that others on my home network can access--which BTW I have not set up for that purpose. All the other pc's are Windows based.

  2. #2
    Linux User dxqcanada's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    259
    What does your /etc/fstab look like ?
    Is there an enty in there for the second drive ?



    Men occasionally stumble over the truth,
    but most of them pick themselves up
    and hurry off as if nothing had happened.

    Winston Churchill


    ... then the Unix-Gods created "man" ...

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    16
    I am going on to my 4th week of using linux--ubuntu has been my choice and have been having fun with it. Well . . . .let me just say, I have no Idea what your talking about How do I see /etc/fstab looks like? This drive has all my music and will also serve as the main storage for which all my other houshold PC's(Window XP/Vista) to access via a router. I sort of looked into it. I guess that will be a Samba question in another post (unless you can guide here as well).

    Thanks in advance.

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux User
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Big River, Sask, Canada
    Posts
    342
    Open a terminal and type:
    cat /etc/fstab
    Copy & paste to a reply here.
    Registered Linux User #420832

  6. #5
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Post the output of df -h command too.
    Code:
    cat /etc/fstab
    df -h
    sudo fdisk -l
    Post output here.

    * Its small L in fdisk -l.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  7. #6
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    16
    Here is the Output. Also, I tried to open some file through some programs but the only way I was able to access them was under Places and selecting the hard drive--is this usual?

    rreyes3000@rreyes3000-desktop:~$ cat /etc/fstab
    # /etc/fstab: static file system information.
    #
    # Use 'vol_id --uuid' to print the universally unique identifier for a
    # device; this may be used with UUID= as a more robust way to name devices
    # that works even if disks are added and removed. See fstab(5).
    #
    # <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
    proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
    # / was on /dev/sda1 during installation
    UUID=abf899d3-10f3-4a08-9bb6-90d07b3bc46c / ext4 relatime,errors=remount-ro 0 1
    # /home was on /dev/sda5 during installation
    UUID=9c308d1c-db23-43f5-bb6b-9ee8a04c5e4c /home ext4 relatime 0 2
    # swap was on /dev/sda6 during installation
    UUID=2605692f-e08b-4cc3-a98c-ec5ffd331ae2 none swap sw 0 0
    /dev/scd0 /media/cdrom0 udf,iso9660 user,noauto,exec,utf8 0 0
    /dev/fd0 /media/floppy0 auto rw,user,noauto,exec,utf8 0 0
    rreyes3000@rreyes3000-desktop:~$ df -h
    Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
    /dev/sdb1 9.9G 3.9G 5.6G 41% /
    tmpfs 994M 0 994M 0% /lib/init/rw
    varrun 994M 328K 994M 1% /var/run
    varlock 994M 0 994M 0% /var/lock
    udev 994M 196K 994M 1% /dev
    tmpfs 994M 172K 994M 1% /dev/shm
    /dev/sdb5 120G 8.5G 105G 8% /home
    /dev/sda1 932G 772G 161G 83% /media/TB
    rreyes3000@rreyes3000-desktop:~$ sudo fdisk -l

  8. #7
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Post the output of sudo fdisk -l command too.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  9. #8
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    16
    Still early. My dog made a mess in the house. What a morning.

    Disk /dev/sda: 1000.2 GB, 1000204886016 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 121601 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0xc6e77b89

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sda1 1 121601 976760001 7 HPFS/NTFS

    Disk /dev/sdb: 150.0 GB, 150039945216 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 18241 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0x00000001

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sdb1 * 1 1307 10498446 83 Linux
    /dev/sdb2 1308 18241 136022355 5 Extended
    /dev/sdb5 1308 17112 126953631 83 Linux
    /dev/sdb6 17721 18241 4184901 82 Linux swap / Solaris

    Disk /dev/sdc: 200.0 GB, 200049647616 bytes
    255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 24321 cylinders
    Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
    Disk identifier: 0xcaf950ac

    Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
    /dev/sdc1 * 1 26 204800 7 HPFS/NTFS
    Partition 1 does not end on cylinder boundary.
    /dev/sdc2 26 12749 102195200 7 HPFS/NTFS
    /dev/sdc3 12749 24322 92957696 7 HPFS/NTFS
    Partition 3 does not end on cylinder boundary.

  10. #9
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Execute this
    Code:
    sudo nano /etc/fstab
    Add this line at the end of file :
    Code:
    /dev/sda1   /media/TB  ntfs-3g  defaults,umask=0  0  0
    Press Ctrl+X, Y and hit Enter key to save file.

    You won't have to mount partition manually on next reboot.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  11. #10
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    16
    Thanks. Will let you know if it works. Off to work now.

    One more thing. Where can I learn all those commands? Whats a good site for the basics?

    Thanks

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •