Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
i just inherited a computer with kubuntu on it. i have no experience with anything other than windows. upon turning on the computer, kubuntu comes on the screen and it ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

kubuntu startup

i just inherited a computer with kubuntu on it. i have no experience with anything other than windows. upon turning on the computer, kubuntu comes on the screen and it does a drive check. unless i hit escape to skip the drive check, the screen goes to a command prompt screen. if i hit escape and skip the drive check, im able to log on and use everything. is this bad?

Hi and Welcome !

upon turning on the computer, kubuntu comes on the screen and it does a drive check. unless i hit escape to skip the drive check, the screen goes to a command prompt screen.
    What message does it display at command prompt screen?
    if i hit escape and skip the drive check, im able to log on and use everything. is this bad?
    Something is wrong because none of Linux distro check disks on every boot.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Just Joined!
    FAIL
    an automatic file system check (fsck) of the root filesystem failed. a manual fsck must be performed, then the system restarted. The fsck should be performed in maintenance mode with the root filesystem mounted in read only mode.
    (orange asterisk) Theroot file systme is currently mounted in read only mode. a maintenance shell will now be started. after performing system maintenance, press control-D to terminate the maintenance shell and restart the system.
    bash:groups: command not found
    bash: lesspipe: command not found
    bash: command: command not found
    bash: the: command not found
    bash:dircolors: command not found
    bash: command: command not found
    bash: the: command not found