Find the answer to your Linux question:
Hello First of all i'd like to mention that i am new to linux, have always been using windows previously but i'm sick of that so i opted to use ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Graphic Card Problems

Hello

First of all i'd like to mention that i am new to linux, have always been using windows previously but i'm sick of that so i opted to use linux. I am not running duel boot cuz i was up to reinstalling windows anyway. At the moment i've got internet on the laptop i am running linux on, but getting to internet on my other computer shouldn't be a problem.

The problem i have is i can't get my screen resolution right. I have ubuntu 8.04. I have used the envy program to deinstall the graphic card drive and reinstall it (i read on other forums that that is the easiest way to get your graphics card to work).
    After enabling it and restarting my computer i got the message that the right graphics card hasn't been detected and that low-graphics will be used. You had to option to press 'Configuration', which i did since i wasn't satisfied with having low graphics.
    You can then choose graphics card from a scroll down list, and i chose the 7 series since that is the most resembling of my graphics card. But at the moment the graphics seem a little better than before, (when i could use only 640x480 resolution), now i have 800 x 600 resolution but this needs to go up to 1280x840.
    I have a toshiba laptop satellite 100-812 with a Gforce Nvidia 7600 Go.
    Don't think further specs are of importance since this is the only thing that is not working (momentarily ofcourse).

Hopefully someone can help.
    Thanks in advance
    Hakkyjr

Hi and Welcome !

Execute this
    Code:
    sudo lspci | grep -i vga
    grep -i driver /etc/X11/xorg.conf
    Post output here.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First