Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 17 of 17
Can you post the exact error message that you get when you try to install from the menu?...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023

    Can you post the exact error message that you get when you try to install from the menu?
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  2. #12
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Quote Originally Posted by lilchakki
    i select recommended drivers- nvidia 173. after i press next, it asks for ubuntu cd.
    Does your machine has internet access?
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    18
    Originally Posted by jayd512
    Can you post the exact error message that you get when you try to install from the menu?
    Below is the exact error message:
    Code:
    the Jockey backend crashed. Please file a bug at:
    
      ubuntu-bug jockey-common
    
    Trying to recover by restarting backend.

    And for devils casper,
    Does your machine has internet access?
    I dont have internet access, but i was once connected to install restricted extras for the OS.
    i get that option to select the version of driver when i go to System -> Administration -> Hardware Drivers. there would be list of two drivers for the card, nvidia - 173 is recommended by ubuntu to install.. and i try installing that. though i tried other version of diver to.

    Hope i provided enough info..

  4. #14
    Penguin of trust elija's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Either at home or at work or down the pub
    Posts
    3,598
    I believe you have to be connected to the internet to get the NVidia drivers although I am always prepared to be corrected.
    "I used to be with it, then they changed what it was.
    Now what was it isn't it, and what is it is weird and scary to me.
    It'll happen to you too."

    Grandpa Simpson



    The Fifth Continent

  5. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    18
    Yes, now i'm connected to internet thru my mobile.. just to solve this problem and for updates. i may not have access to internet soon, however thats not a problem as i can activate again.

  6. #16
    Administrator jayd512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    5,023
    You'll need to be connected while attempting to download/install the drivers. Is that the case?
    Jay

    New users, read this first.
    New Member FAQ
    Registered Linux User #463940
    I do not respond to private messages asking for Linux help. Please keep it on the public boards.

  7. #17
    Super Moderator devils casper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Chandigarh, India
    Posts
    24,729
    Hardware Drivers option in Menu downloads driver from Internet only and for Driver installation, your machine must have internet access.
    It is amazing what you can accomplish if you do not care who gets the credit.
    New Users: Read This First

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •