Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 10 of 10
ve installed kubuntu for the first time (although I have been using linux for a few years). I'm trying to get dual monitor support (extended monitor and cloning) to work ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    5

    Getting Dual Monitors to Work


    ve installed kubuntu for the first time (although I have been using linux for a few years).

    I'm trying to get dual monitor support (extended monitor and cloning) to work properly on my laptop, but don't seem to be having any luck (nothing works).

    My laptop is a toshiba a50, my graphics card is identified as follows:
    Code:

    Code:
    00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82852/855GM Integrated Graphics Device (rev 02)
    00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation 82852/855GM Integrated Graphics Device (rev 02)
    My xorg.conf currently looks like this:
    Code:

    Code:
    Section "Monitor"
        Identifier    "Configured Monitor"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Screen"
        Identifier    "Default Screen"
        Monitor        "Configured Monitor"
        Device        "Configured Video Device"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
        Identifier    "Configured Video Device"
    EndSection
    
    Section "ServerFlags"
        Option    "DontZap"    "False"
    EndSection
    In the display option under system settings, both monitors are detected: the laptops LCD is showing up as LVDS and the external as VGA (I'm unable to try TV-out at this point).

    I can play around with the options for both monitors (resolution and refresh rate), but cannot get the external monitor to go at all (yes, it does work fine). If I click "identify outputs", then I see that both LVDS and VGA appear on the laptop's monitor! In the green box on the right I can see "VGA" underneath LVDS.

    Ultimately I'd like to have an extended monitor, using the secondary one for presentations etc. If I could even get cloning to work, that would be a start...

    Thanks for your help.

  2. #2
    Linux User kmitnick's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Jordan - Amman
    Posts
    329
    is it kubuntu 8.04?
    Dual Booting Ubuntu 10.04, Windows 7

    Toshiba Satellite A200-1M5, Duo Core 2.0 Ghz, 1 Gigs RAM, 256 Intel Card

    You are registered Linux user number 490788
    Happy Linuxing

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    5
    Quote Originally Posted by kmitnick View Post
    is it kubuntu 8.04?
    Oops, forgot to mention! 9.04.

  4. #4
    Linux User kmitnick's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Jordan - Amman
    Posts
    329
    have you looked for a bug for 9.04 in the launchpad???
    cuz if you alter both monitors resolutions you can simply use it and don't forget to log out and re login after editing the resolution to take effects
    Dual Booting Ubuntu 10.04, Windows 7

    Toshiba Satellite A200-1M5, Duo Core 2.0 Ghz, 1 Gigs RAM, 256 Intel Card

    You are registered Linux user number 490788
    Happy Linuxing

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    5
    I didn't see any bugs in launchpad that describe my problem. When I change the resolution of one of the monitors, and then hit apply, the drop down boxes for selecting the resolution change back to 1024x768, so it seems I can't change anything at all.

  6. #6
    Linux User kmitnick's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Jordan - Amman
    Posts
    329
    so is both are set to 1024x768???
    and the extended one is having a signal?
    Dual Booting Ubuntu 10.04, Windows 7

    Toshiba Satellite A200-1M5, Duo Core 2.0 Ghz, 1 Gigs RAM, 256 Intel Card

    You are registered Linux user number 490788
    Happy Linuxing

  7. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    5
    Yes, they're both set to 1024x768.

    The second monitor doesn't appear to be getting any signal at all, even though it is being detected.

  8. #8
    Linux User kmitnick's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Jordan - Amman
    Posts
    329
    mmm i don't know, but as long as the second's resolution is not set to off then why don't you try to log off and relogon???
    Dual Booting Ubuntu 10.04, Windows 7

    Toshiba Satellite A200-1M5, Duo Core 2.0 Ghz, 1 Gigs RAM, 256 Intel Card

    You are registered Linux user number 490788
    Happy Linuxing

  9. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    5
    I've tried that many times

  10. #10
    Linux User kmitnick's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Jordan - Amman
    Posts
    329
    see this

    good luck
    Dual Booting Ubuntu 10.04, Windows 7

    Toshiba Satellite A200-1M5, Duo Core 2.0 Ghz, 1 Gigs RAM, 256 Intel Card

    You are registered Linux user number 490788
    Happy Linuxing

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •