Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Hi! I installed Ubuntu 9.04 'inside' of the Windows XP OS because I heard that it was easier to get rid of if I didn't want the program any more. ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Getting rid of dual boot in Windows XP

Hi!

I installed Ubuntu 9.04 'inside' of the Windows XP OS because I heard that it was easier to get rid of if I didn't want the program any more. Well, I didn't want the
    Linux Ubuntu OS any more, so within Windows XP, I 'uninstalled' it. However, what I wasn't told, was that at startup, I would still see the 'dual boot' screen. Had I known that, I would have just used the Linux OS from the CD, that way, if I didn't want to use it any more, I didn't have to, and I wouldn't be stuck with the dual boot
    screen.

Anyhow, since I'm fairly new to Linux, I would like to know how I can get rid of the
    dual boot screen without hurting the Windows XP OS? Thanks!

Just Joined!
    I'm pretty new at this, so hopefully my advice can be verified by a more experienced user, but just formatting the Linux partition doesn't remove the Grub bootloader, which is the screen that pops up when you boot.

Put your Windows XP CD into the drive and boot into the recovery console. Once you're there, run the following commands:

Code:
    C:\>fixboot
    C:\>fixmbr
    You should be set then.

Just Joined!
    Quote Originally Posted by Raddy View Post
    I'm pretty new at this, so hopefully my advice can be verified by a more experienced user, but just formatting the Linux partition doesn't remove the Grub bootloader, which is the screen that pops up when you boot.

Put your Windows XP CD into the drive and boot into the recovery console. Once you're there, run the following commands:

Code:
    C:\>fixboot
    C:\>fixmbr
    You should be set then.
    I tried what you suggested, but I couldn't get into the C: drive. I kept getting the