Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
I recently installed Kubuntu 9.04 on a laptop. The laptop has MATSHITA DVD-RAM UJ862AS (/dev/sr0). It will recognize/mount both CDs and DVDs. However, it will only play the CDs. I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

Unhappy Trouble getting DVD to play

I recently installed Kubuntu 9.04 on a laptop. The laptop has MATSHITA DVD-RAM UJ862AS (/dev/sr0). It will recognize/mount both CDs and DVDs. However, it will only play the CDs. I am a complete noob at this, so I appologize if this was covered elsewhere. I have searched many guides and forums trying to get the DVDs to play, but no luck.

I have installed the following libraries(as verified with $ dpkg -l):
    ii libdvdcss2 1.2.10-0.2medibun Simple foundation for reading DVDs
    ii libdvdnav4 4.1.3-3 DVD navigation library
    ii libdvdread4 4.1.3-4ubuntu2 library for reading DVDs

I have installed and attempted to play the DVDs on VLC, mplayer, Kaffeine, and SMPlayer. Also, it should be noted that the DVD that I am attempting to play is a region 2 DVD. I have installed regionset and receive the following output when run:
    $ regionset version 0.1 -- reads/sets region code on DVD drives
    Current Region Code settings:
    RPC Phase: II
    type: NONE
    vendor resets available: 4
    user controlled changes resets available: 5
    drive plays discs from region(s):, mask=0xFF

Would you like to change the region setting of your drive? [y/n]:y
    [2]+ Stopped regionset
    bash: y: command not found
    [2]+ Stopped regionset

When VLC tries to run it(settings for codecs set to "/dev/sr0" and the disk device as "/media/cdrom0/VIDEO_TS") the program fails with an error message that reads:
    Playback failure:
    VLC cannot set the DVD's title. It possibly cannot decrypt the entire disk.
    Your input can't be opened:
    VLC is unable to open the MRL<path>. Check the log for details.