Find the answer to your Linux question:
Results 1 to 5 of 5
Hi, I having this problem for the past few days. My server is in slicehost, ubuntu hardy installed with postfix. The email accounts are registered in google apps. I have ...
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    3

    Postfix emails being deferred

    Hi,

    I having this problem for the past few days.

    My server is in slicehost, ubuntu hardy installed with postfix. The email accounts are registered in google apps. I have the right MX records for that.

    I am not able to send emails out to gmail/msn servers (from my slicehost server ) as my ip has been blocked.

    This is what postfix's log says

    Our system has detected an unusual amount of 421-4.7.0 unsolicited mail originating from your IP address. To protect our 421-4.7.0 users from spam, mail sent from your IP address has been temporarily 421-4.7.0 blocked. Please visit Bulk Senders Guidelines - Gmail Help 421 4.7.0 to review our Bulk Email Senders Guidelines. 11si9070851vws.68 (in reply to end of DATA command))

    But I send no more than 1-2 emails per day. Not sure why this is happening.

    Any Help appreciated.. Thanks

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie Mad Professor's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    128
    Means your mail server is an open relay and bots have successfully probe it and forward the information to the spammers and spambots.

    Secure your mail server then file an appeal to get it unblocked.

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    3
    I tested for open relay .. it says open relay access denied..

    emails to gmail are now working but for msn/hotmail, i get this

    relay=mx4.hotmail.com[65.54.188.126]:25, delay=0.32, delays=0.09/0.01/0.18/0.04, dsn=5.0.0, status=bounced (host mx4.hotmail.com[65.54.188.126] said: 550 DY-001 Mail rejected by Windows Live Hotmail for policy reasons. We generally do not accept email from dynamic IP's as they are not typically used to deliver unauthenticated SMTP e-mail to an Internet mail server. The Spamhaus Project maintains lists of dynamic and residential IP addresses. If you are not an email/network admin please contact your E-mail/Internet Service Provider for help. Email/network admins, please visit MSN Postmaster for email delivery information and support (in reply to MAIL FROM command))

    I have a dedicated IP

  4. #4
    Linux Newbie Mad Professor's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    128
    Well if you know that your server is not an open relay then the problem could still be your mail server, I suggest sifting through the logs and see how many messages are being sent, if you don't see anything usual then don't worry to much about your mail server being the problem, and to start looking at the host and their network as being the problem.

    65-68 blocks are generally ISP residential blocks, It's saying you don't have a static IP and/or that your host is on a known residential block of ips.

    You should contact you host provider and ask them whats up with this?

    You can always setup your mail server to do a mta relay to your ISP/Host's SMTP server and have your mail externally deliver. I have my own mail server on a residential connection this is how I have it setup.

  5. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    3

    Smile

    Thanks for your help.

    The problem was that even though my ip is a static one, it was listed as dynamic in spamhaus.org/lookup.lasso

    After I removed the IP from the PBL, it works !

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
...