Find the answer to your Linux question:
hey people, i'm a newbie on Linux, and i wanted to try ubuntu as my first Linus OS. at the moment of installation, everything goes well, after a few moment ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

I Can't install Ubuntu

hey people, i'm a newbie on Linux, and i wanted to try ubuntu as my first Linus OS.

at the moment of installation, everything goes well, after a few moment where the following error comes up:

"error executing command
    >>command=c:\Windows\System32\bcdedit.exe /set
    {3d7753b8-985e-11de-9a68-fbe269a4a7ec}device partition=D:
    >>retval=1
    >>stderr=error when establishing the element's data (spanish translated).
    request not compatible.

>>stdout=

for more information, please see the log file:
    c:\users\alejan-1\appdata\local\temp\wubi-9.10ubuntu1-rev160log"

what can i do about this error? i've already did the chkdsk thing, and also looked for error on the Hard-drive, but the error is still there. plz help! =( y really wanna try ubuntu =(

thanks beforehand,

alexjose182

So it looks to me that you're using the Windows installer. I've never used the Windows installer, so I know very little about it. However, I might suggest trying the LiveCD installation instead. Not only will the LiveCD allow you to try out Ubuntu without making any changes to your HD (it boots directly from the CD), you can install from the CD using the native Linux tools instead of having to work within Windows.

You can download the CD image and get some instructions at:

Download Ubuntu | Ubuntu

Good luck!

Just Joined!