Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 27
I have a Compaq Evo N610c that was running 9.10. I was reluctant to upgrade to 10.04 since everything was working like a clock. But, alas, the "newer is better" ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #1
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    12

    Enterasys wireless worked on 9.10, but won't on 10.04


    I have a Compaq Evo N610c that was running 9.10. I was reluctant to upgrade to 10.04 since everything was working like a clock. But, alas, the "newer is better" bug bit me and I just HAD to try out 10.04.

    So, I installed it in a dual boot mode, keeping my 9.10 in tact. I'm glad I did! I use an Enterasys Roamabout CSIBD-AA-128 wireless lan card to connect to my network. I use WEP 128-bit encryption for the network. I connect without issue in 9.10.

    In 10.04, I am unable to connect to the network. I am sure that the card is recognized, as the system "sees" my network and tries to connect. I am asked for "wireless network authentication required". I have tried both passphrase (WEP 40/128-bit key) and WEP 128-bit passphrase (network name 5rueckls). When I enter either, the computer looks like it is trying to connect, but never gets there. Settings under the "Editing Auto 5rueckls" include Mode: Infrastructure, MTU: Automatic, IPv4 Settings Method: Automatic, IPv6 Settings Method: Automatic, Wireless security: WEP 40/128 (key entered), WEP Index 1, Authentication: Open System. Available to all users is "ticked".

    I am very new to the whole Linux/Ubuntu environment, but have made alot of progress! I can follow direction very nicely.

    Please help, or my next post will be about how to completely remove 10.04 from this computer.

  2. #2
    Linux Newbie JosePF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    225
    Quote Originally Posted by bomber1712 View Post
    Please help, or my next post will be about how to completely remove 10.04 from this computer.
    or could explain how to install windows 7!
    give it some time

    Could you report?

    iwconfig
    ifconfig
    lsmod


    Regards

  3. #3
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    12
    bomber2@bomber2-laptop:~$ sudo iwconfig

    [sudo] password for bomber2:

    lo no wireless extensions.


    eth0 no wireless extensions.


    eth1 IEEE 802.11b ESSID:"5Rueckls"

    Mode:Managed Frequency:2.422 GHz Access Point: None

    Bit Rate:11 Mb/s Sensitivity:1/0

    Retry limit:8 RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off

    Encryption key:off

    Power Management:off

    Link Quality=0/70 Signal level=-122 dBm Noise level=-122 dBm

    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0

    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0



    bomber2@bomber2-laptop:~$ sudo ifconfig

    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:02:a5:c2:b4:e7

    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1

    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0

    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0

    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000

    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)


    eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:01:f4:ec:ee:93

    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1

    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0

    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0

    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000

    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

    Interrupt:3 Base address:0x2100


    lo Link encap:Local Loopback

    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0

    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host

    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1

    RX packets:12 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0

    TX packets:12 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0

    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0

    RX bytes:720 (720.0 B) TX bytes:720 (720.0 B)



    bomber2@bomber2-laptop:~$ sudo lsmod

    Module Size Used by

    nls_iso8859_1 3249 1

    nls_cp437 4919 1
    vfat 8933 1

    fat 47767 1 vfat

    usb_storage 39425 1

    binfmt_misc 6587 1

    michael_mic 1732 4

    orinoco_cs 8782 1

    orinoco 62841 1 orinoco_cs

    fbcon 35102 71

    tileblit 2031 1 fbcon

    font 7557 1 fbcon

    bitblit 4707 1 fbcon

    softcursor 1189 1 bitblit

    cfg80211 126517 1 orinoco

    vga16fb 11385 0

    vgastate 8961 1 vga16fb

    snd_intel8x0 25588 2

    snd_ac97_codec 100646 1 snd_intel8x0

    ac97_bus 1002 1 snd_ac97_codec

    snd_pcm_oss 35308 0

    snd_mixer_oss 13746 1 snd_pcm_oss

    snd_pcm 70662 3 snd_intel8x0,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm_oss

    snd_seq_dummy 1338 0

    snd_seq_oss 26726 0

    snd_seq_midi 4557 0

    snd_rawmidi 19056 1 snd_seq_midi

    snd_seq_midi_event 6003 2 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi

    joydev 8708 0

    pcmcia 33024 1 orinoco_cs

    snd_seq 47263 6 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_mid i_event

    radeon 674824 3

    snd_timer 19098 2 snd_pcm,snd_seq

    snd_seq_device 5700 5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_rawmidi ,snd_seq

    ttm 49943 1 radeon

    drm_kms_helper 29297 1 radeon

    snd 54148 14 snd_intel8x0,snd_ac97_codec,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_ oss,snd_pcm,snd_seq_oss,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq,snd_ti mer,snd_seq_device

    yenta_socket 20408 4

    drm 162377 5 radeon,ttm,drm_kms_helper

    i2c_algo_bit 5028 1 radeon

    rsrc_nonstatic 10015 1 yenta_socket

    pcmcia_core 32964 4 orinoco_cs,pcmcia,yenta_socket,rsrc_nonstatic

    intel_agp 24119 1

    soundcore 6620 1 snd

    psmouse 63245 0

    serio_raw 3978 0

    snd_page_alloc 7076 2 snd_intel8x0,snd_pcm

    agpgart 31724 3 ttm,drm,intel_agp

    shpchp 28820 0

    ppdev 5259 0

    irda 186556 0

    parport_pc 25962 1

    crc_ccitt 1339 1 irda

    lp 7028 0

    parport 32635 3 ppdev,parport_pc,lp

    e100 28211 0

    mii 4381 1 e100

    floppy 53016 0

  4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
  5. #4
    Linux Newbie JosePF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    225
    First option:

    Edit /etc/network/interfaces and add:

    auto eth1
    iface eth1 inet dhcp
    gateway 'your AP IP'
    dns-nameservers 212.51.33.73 212.51.33.110[or DNS that you want]
    wireless-key s:'your key'
    wireless-essid 5rueckls

    Second option:
    install wicd

    Regards

  6. #5
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    12
    OK, I tried to add the lines to "interfaces". I entered my AP IP without the quotes, entered my key without quotes, and changed the dns to what is listed in my router settings. I tried to connect, but it would not. It sees the network, but will not connect. I have double/triple checked the key code to make sure it is entered correctly. I did a restart to see if that would help, but still did not connect.

    Questions:

    1. Since it did not work, should I remove the lines from "Inerfaces"?

    2. There are 6 options to install wicd. I am assuming the "metapackage" is the one you mean. The others are daemon, Python module, Curses client, scriptable cli client, and one that just says Wicd Network Manager.

    3. before I try to install wicd, do I need to uninstall any other network management packages? The current manager is NetworkManager Applet 0.8.

    4. How can I install a package without internet access? Is there a way to save the package to a USB drive, then install from that?

    Thanks for your help and patience.

  7. #6
    Linux Newbie JosePF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    225
    Hi,
    sorry there is an error in interfaces file:

    auto eth1
    iface eth1 inet dhcp
    gateway 'your AP IP'
    wireless-key s:'your key'
    wireless-essid 5rueckls

    change this and do:
    sudo /etc/init.d/networking restart

    then please report:
    cat /etc/resolv.conf
    ifconfig
    iwconfig

    1. Yes. If this doest works, you can delete lines.

    2. You must install: EDIT2 (sorry, dont install wicd. It is a metapkg), python-wicd, wicd-daemon, wicd-gtk.

    3. wicd should automatically uninstall network-manager.

    4. Yes, you can download and install with dpkg or gdebi(with gui, more easy).

    I hope this help you
    Regards
    Last edited by JosePF; 08-19-2010 at 01:58 PM.

  8. #7
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    12
    Here is what my "interfaces" file looks like:

    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
    auto eth1
    iface eth1 inet dhcp
    gateway 192.168.1.1
    wireless-key s:1B...41761 (26 characters)
    wireless-essid 5Rueckls (I changed the "R" to a cap, because that's how the SSID is built)

    Here is the output you requested:

    bomber2@bomber2-laptop:~$ sudo /etc/init.d/networking restart
    * Reconfiguring network interfaces... There is already a pid file /var/run/dhclient.eth1.pid with pid 1560
    killed old client process, removed PID file
    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.1.3
    Copyright 2004-2009 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit (cannot post url)

    Listening on LPF/eth1/00:01:f4:ec:ee:93
    Sending on LPF/eth1/00:01:f4:ec:ee:93
    Sending on Socket/fallback
    Error for wireless request "Set Encode" (8B2A) :
    SET failed on device eth1 ; Argument list too long.
    Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client V3.1.3
    Copyright 2004-2009 Internet Systems Consortium.
    All rights reserved.
    For info, please visit (Cannot post URL)

    Listening on LPF/eth1/00:01:f4:ec:ee:93
    Sending on LPF/eth1/00:01:f4:ec:ee:93
    Sending on Socket/fallback
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth1 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 3
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth1 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 7
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth1 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 11
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth1 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 15
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth1 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 9
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth1 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 13
    DHCPDISCOVER on eth1 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 3
    No DHCPOFFERS received.
    No working leases in persistent database - sleeping.
    [ OK ]
    bomber2@bomber2-laptop:~$ sudo ifconfig
    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:02:a5:c2:b4:e7
    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

    eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:01:f4:ec:ee:93
    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
    RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
    Interrupt:3 Base address:0x2100

    eth1:avahi Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:01:f4:ec:ee:93
    inet addr:169.254.12.69 Bcast:169.254.255.255 Mask:255.255.0.0
    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    Interrupt:3 Base address:0x2100

    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
    inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
    UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
    RX packets:60 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:60 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:4272 (4.2 KB) TX bytes:4272 (4.2 KB)

    bomber2@bomber2-laptop:~$ sudo iwconfig
    lo no wireless extensions.

    eth0 no wireless extensions.

    eth1 IEEE 802.11b ESSID:"5Rueckls"
    Mode:Managed Frequency:2.422 GHz Access Point: None
    Bit Rate:11 Mb/s Sensitivity:1/0
    Retry limit:8 RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
    Encryption key:off
    Power Management:off
    Link Quality=0/70 Signal level=-122 dBm Noise level=-122 dBm
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

    bomber2@bomber2-laptop:~$


    I have downloaded wicd_1.5.9-2_all.deb file from the wicd website and saved it to a USB drive. I have no idea what to do with it!

    Thanks, again.

  9. #8
    Linux Guru reed9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,651
    Package downloads:

    wicd-daemon

    python-wicd

    wicd-gtk

    I think the rest of what's required is installed by default, but if not, you'll get a missing dependency error when you try to install. You should install python-wicd first, then the daemon, then the gtk package.

    To install, just stick em on a flash drive, plug it into your Ubuntu box, and double click the package.

    Alternately, from the command line
    Code:
    sudo dpkg -i /path/to/python-wicd_1.7.0+ds1-2_all.deb
    Replacing /path/to with the actual path, and the name of the package, as appropriate.

    Note that for wicd or the default networkmanager to work properly, the only lines (not including comments, ie, line preceded by a # mark) that can be in /etc/network/interfaces are
    Code:
    auto lo
    iface lo inet loopback
    Many people do find that networkmanager has issues connecting for some reason and that wicd works better.

    EDIT: Note that you may have to go into the wicd preferences and change your interface name from wlan0 to eth1.

    However, I'm not convinced that is your issue here. I would try the following:

    Remove all but the above lines from /etc/network/interfaces.

    Disable all encryption on your router for now, if possible. If not, that's fine too, but makes it easier to troubleshoot.

    Do
    Code:
    sudo /etc/init.d/networking restart
    sudo ifconfig eth1 down
    sudo modprobe -r orinoco
    sudo modprobe -r orinoco_cs
    sudo modprobe orinoco force_monitor=1
    sudo ifconfig eth1 up
    sudo iwlist eth1 scan
    Does the last return wireless networks? If so, continue
    Code:
    sudo iwconfig eth1 essid "5Rueckls" key <WEP key>
    sudo dhclient eth1
    If you did manager to disable encryption, do not use the key section of iwconfig. If your WEP key is an ASCII string and not hex, add an s:
    Code:
    sudo iwconfig eth1 essid "5Rueckls" key s:<WEP key>
    *I'm assuming 5Rueckls is in fact your network. Obviously, replace it with the correct essid if not.

    You can check the output of just
    Code:
    sudo iwconfig
    after entering the essid and key, and look for it to list an Access Point. If as above you see
    Code:
    eth1 IEEE 802.11b ESSID:"5Rueckls" 
    
    Mode:Managed Frequency:2.422 GHz Access Point: None
    You have not successfully associated with your router. I've found on occasion it can take a couple of tried to get it to associate.

    If this is still failing, please do
    Code:
    dmesg > dmesg.txt
    That will create a text file called dmesg.txt in your current working directory. Post the contents of the file here. It will be long so use code tags.
    Last edited by reed9; 08-19-2010 at 02:54 PM.

  10. #9
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    12
    I try to run:

    bomber2@bomber2-laptop: sudo service networking restart

    It returns:

    restart: Unknown instance:

  11. #10
    Linux Newbie JosePF's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    225
    Hi,
    sorry, but when i do sudo service networking restart, display:
    restart: Unknown instance:

    in my ubuntu 10.4 i cant use service for networking service. Im outdated?

    Regards

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •