Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am new to Ubuntu and generally find it excellent in comparison with Windows Vista. Today I tried to install Emerald and I typed into the terminal 'replace --emerald'. I ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
    Just Joined!

How to Reverse a Change

I am new to Ubuntu and generally find it excellent in comparison with Windows Vista.

Today I tried to install Emerald and I typed into the terminal 'replace --emerald'.

I have now lost my original theme and also the top bar of the windows so I cannot move them and have no buttons to close or minimise them. I have tried to uninstall compiz with no result and I have tried to reinstall my original theme MacOS-X again with no result.

Is there an easy way to get back to where I was before? I am not very familiar with Ubuntu so any guidance will have to be fairly simple. Is there something like a system restore function?

Hi!

I am new to Ubuntu and generally find it excellent in comparison with Windows Vista.
    Anything seems to be excellent in camparison to Vista. MS made a killing out of it, IMO. Sold all their Vista. Then people got disappointed and went back to XP, and now they released Windows 7.
    So some had to buy 3 times.

Today I tried to install Emerald and I typed into the terminal 'replace --emerald'.

I have now lost my original theme and also the top bar of the windows so I cannot move them and have no buttons to close or minimise them. I have tried to uninstall compiz with no result and I have tried to reinstall my original theme MacOS-X again with no result.

Is there an easy way to get back to where I was before? I am not very familiar with Ubuntu so any guidance will have to be fairly simple. Is there something like a system restore function?
    Have you tried Systems -> Admin -> Synaptic Package Manager?

nujinini
    Linux User #489667

Just Joined!