Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 1 of 8 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

cant load windows or ubuntu!!

Hi, i'm new to linux- specifically ubuntu and have came across a serious problem.

I was using my laptop (vista), and successfully figured out how to install/load ubuntu.. I then read that after I download the program I should update everything using the updater.. I was then updating some 200 files ( I thought these were security updates ) .. and eventually after it finished it asked me to restart. When i tried to load my computer I came up with a black screen saying:

error: no such device: eb6ed085-d460-4e73-85b3-0ede1171a0a2.
    grub rescue>

It doesnt give me the option to load windows or ubuntu and goes directly to this when I turn on my laptop. I hope I didnt permanently damage my laptop. I have business work on their I need to access urgently. I regret unknowingly trying to use this program. Though I hope someone can help me, i'm in need of help urgently. Any help would be greatly appreciated!!

Is this a wubi install or does Ubuntu have it's own partition. What version of Ubuntu also.

Yes it was a wubi install.
    It was the latest version of Ubuntu. I downloaded directly from the ubuntu website.

4. $spacer_open
    $spacer_close
    but I did create a partition. named it Z and then formatted it. then put ubuntu onto that.

Just to understand you properly. You are running Ubuntu 10.10 and Use Grub 2 to boot both Windows and Ubuntu.

Not Wubi. Because this makes a big difference on what you need to do.

Quote Originally Posted by rokytnji View Post
    Just to understand you properly. You are running Ubuntu 10.10 and Use Grub 2 to boot both Windows and Ubuntu.

Not Wubi. Because this makes a big difference on what you need to do.
    Oh Boy. If I think you put a wubi install on it's own partition by moving wubi install from programs folder to Z partition. You have borked it good.