Find the answer to your Linux question:
I am creating a database for a budget, and the installation and setup is relatively easy. It resembles MS Access in many ways. When I created a table, and a ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.

OpenOffice.org 3.2 Database

I am creating a database for a budget, and the installation and setup is relatively easy. It resembles MS Access in many ways.

When I created a table, and a form to enter data into that table, The cursor sits in the field, but will not allow me to enter any data. I don't know what is wrong. I attempted to see if I have it set to read only, but I can't tell that, and it doesn't do me any good if I can't enter information into it with the form.

Has anyone else experienced such a problem, and is there a fix, or .. What am I doing wrong, or not doing that I should be doing. Any help will be hugely appreciated. I am a recent graduate from the MS way of doing things, and trying to get into Linux Ununtu. I no longer have MS at all. This is MUST DO for me.

Thanks for any and all assistance. Joe

I can be found either 40 miles west of Chicago, in Chicago, or in a galaxy far, far away.
    Open the OOo database application, click on "Forms" in the Database column (left side). Right-click on the table you created, and select the "Edit" option. You can check and change the properties of the form from there. Click on a field to check, right-click, and select "Control...". You can check and select whether or not the field is enabled, visible, printable, etc.

BTW, I am using Libre Office 3.3.1, but this should apply to OOo 3.2 as well - they are very similar and have a common code base.
    Sometimes, real fast is almost as good as real time.
    Just remember, Semper Gumbi - always be flexible!