Find the answer to your Linux question:
Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 41
What's the output of Code: iwconfig Normally, with the wl driver, the interface will be named eth1, but that's not absolute. Although, you said no output from the lsmod command? ...
Enjoy an ad free experience by logging in. Not a member yet? Register.
  1. #11
    Linux Guru reed9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,651

    What's the output of
    Code:
    iwconfig
    Normally, with the wl driver, the interface will be named eth1, but that's not absolute. Although, you said no output from the lsmod command? So the module isn't loading and there would be no interface.

    You can manually load the module as so
    Code:
    sudo modprobe wl
    If you use the "echo" command, it will add wl to the file /etc/modules. It's just another way of doing it rather than opening the file in a text editor.

    The default text editor in Ubuntu is gedit. I used that in the other post
    Code:
    gksudo gedit /etc/pm/power.d/wireless
    This opens gedit with root privileges to the file /etc/pm/power.d/wireless.

    You could also do
    Code:
    echo "#!/bin/sh
    /sbin/iwconfig eth1 power off" | sudo tee -a /etc/pm/power.d/wireless
    gksudo is a program for opening GUI programs as root.

    When you enter your password at the console, you won't see anything on the screen when you type. It's a security thing. But the try again indicates you're not entering your password correctly. Here's how to reset your password if you need to.

  2. #12
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada Zone6
    Posts
    61
    echo "#!/bin/sh/sbin/iwconfig eth1 power off" | sudo tee -a /etc/pm/power.d/wireless
    Entered this command and it came back with "event not found"

  3. #13
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada Zone6
    Posts
    61
    sudo modprobe wi
    [sudo] password for gene:
    FATAL: Module wi not found.
    gene@gene-HP-Mini-210-1000:~$ iwconfig
    lo no wireless extensions.

    eth0 no wireless extensions.

    wlan0 IEEE 802.11bg ESSID:"Genelinksys"
    Mode:Managed Frequency:2.437 GHz Access Point: 00:25:9C:2E:98:EE
    Bit Rate=1 Mb/s Tx-Power=20 dBm
    Retry long limit:7 RTS thr:off Fragment thr:off
    Power Management:off
    Link Quality=70/70 Signal level=-40 dBm
    Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
    Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:

  4. #14
    Linux Guru reed9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,651
    Quote Originally Posted by saugen48 View Post
    echo "#!/bin/sh/sbin/iwconfig eth1 power off" | sudo tee -a /etc/pm/power.d/wireless
    Entered this command and it came back with "event not found"
    Oh, I think that's an issue with the shell trying to interpret the !#. I'm not actually sure how to do that so it comes out correct. Just go back to using a text editor, like in the first example.

    Code:
    gksudo gedit /etc/pm/power.d/wireless
    and paste in
    Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    /sbin/iwconfig eth1 power off
    The module name is wl not wi. The second character is a lower case L.

    But you have an wireless interface on wlan0. Which makes me wonder if it's loading the open source b43 driver.

    Can you post the output of
    Code:
    lsmod | grep b43
    dmesg | grep firmware

  5. #15
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada Zone6
    Posts
    61
    Could you please step me thru what I should do when I open the text editor...not really sure what is required here

  6. #16
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada Zone6
    Posts
    61
    Quote Originally Posted by reed9 View Post
    Oh, I think that's an issue with the shell trying to interpret the !#. I'm not actually sure how to do that so it comes out correct. Just go back to using a text editor, like in the first example.

    Code:
    gksudo gedit /etc/pm/power.d/wireless
    and paste in
    Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    /sbin/iwconfig eth1 power off
    The module name is wl not wi. The second character is a lower case L.

    But you have an wireless interface on wlan0. Which makes me wonder if it's loading the open source b43 driver.

    Can you post the output of
    Code:
    lsmod | grep b43
    dmesg | grep firmware
    lsmod | grep b43
    b43 168681 0
    mac80211 231959 1 b43
    cfg80211 144694 2 b43,mac80211
    led_class 2633 1 b43
    ssb 39320 1 b43
    gene@gene-HP-Mini-210-1000:~$ dmesg | grep firmware
    [ 18.684638] b43-phy0: Loading firmware version 478.104 (2008-07-01 00:50:23)

  7. #17
    Linux Guru reed9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,651
    Quote Originally Posted by saugen48 View Post
    Could you please step me thru what I should do when I open the text editor...not really sure what is required here
    You're just copying and pasting. Just highlight the text in here
    Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    /sbin/iwconfig eth1 power off
    Select copy, paste into the gedit window that we opened, and save.

    But that should wait a moment. You have the b43 driver loading currently. For some reason I thought you had confirmed you were using the wl driver, but looking back I see that isn't so. I assumed the driver you were activating in Ubuntu's hardware manager thing was the wl, but it may have been the firmware for the b43.

    You may actually have a choice of either the wl or b43. (The b43 is completely open source, but requires non-free firmware, which you have. I'm not actually sure what the wl driver's license is, but it's not entirely free.)

    The b43 driver doesn't work completely with some broadcom chipsets though. What is your wireless card, anyway? Post the output of
    Code:
    lspci -vnn | grep -a4 -i net
    For those chipsets the b43 has problems with, you need to pass a couple of options to the drive.
    Code:
    sudo modprobe -r b43
    sudo modprobe b43 pio=1 qos=0
    If that gets it working, make permanent with
    Code:
    echo "options b43 pio=1 qos=0" | sudo tee -a /etc/modprobe.d/b43.conf

  8. #18
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada Zone6
    Posts
    61
    Here is the results of the first command you gave me to try:
    gene@gene-HP-Mini-210-1000:~$ lspci -vnn | grep -a4 -i net
    Flags: medium devsel, IRQ 10
    I/O ports at 6000 [size=32]
    Kernel modules: i2c-i801

    01:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8101E/RTL8102E PCI Express Fast Ethernet controller [10ec:8136] (rev 02)
    Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device [103c:3660]
    Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 42
    I/O ports at 5000 [size=256]
    Memory at 50010000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=4K]
    --
    Capabilities: <access denied>
    Kernel driver in use: r8169
    Kernel modules: r8169

    02:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Broadcom Corporation BCM4312 802.11b/g LP-PHY [14e4:4315] (rev 01)
    Subsystem: Hewlett-Packard Company Device [103c:1507]
    Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 17
    Memory at 56000000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16K]
    Capabilities: <access denied>
    gene@gene-HP-Mini-210-1000:~$

    I will stop there til you tell me to continue withthe next or all of the remaining

  9. #19
    Linux Guru reed9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    4,651
    Yup, the bcm4312 can use either driver, but you need to pass the options above to use the b43.

    I find the wl driver tends to perform better. You can install that with as directed here. Your experience may be different, however.

    You can't have both drivers loading. I believe when you install the wl in Ubuntu, it blacklists the b43 automaticall, but if not you can do
    Code:
    echo "blacklist b43" | sudo tee -a /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist.conf

  10. #20
    Just Joined!
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada Zone6
    Posts
    61
    passed the options as indicated above and let it run and seem to have worked so, made it permanent with the next command...thanks again for all the great help

    Gene

Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •